AFLIC14 Twitter AFLIC14 Instagram AFLIC14 Facebook

2014 International Cup Grand Final - Ireland v PNG

PNG secures International Cup

Papua New Guinea defeated Ireland by three points at the MCG to claim the 2014 AFL International Cup

2014 International Cup Grand Final - Ireland v PNG

Latest News

International Cup to be held in Melbourne

The sixth international carnival is expected to be the biggest one yet

2:05pm May 25, 2016


IC Final Rankings

The 2014 International Cup Rankings have been finalised following two weeks of gruelling competition

12:17pm Aug 25, 2014

PNG earns revenge with nailbiting win

Papua New Guinea beats Ireland in a thriller to win the International Cup

7:43pm Aug 23, 2014


PNG overpowers Ireland

Papua New Guinea has defeated Ireland to be crowned International Cup champions

7:13pm Aug 23, 2014


Canada downs Ireland

Canada Northern Lights have ousted Ireland to win the International Cup Women's title

4:32pm Aug 23, 2014


Grand Final glory up for grabs

International Cup glory will be on the line today

10:14am Aug 23, 2014

Events Calendar

Date Event Where
Aug 9
Official Launch, Parade of Nations  & AFL match Federation Square Melbourne & MCG, 1pm
Aug 10
Round 1 Matches Royal Park
Aug 13
Round 2 Matches   Royal Park
Aug 16
Round 3 - Community Round Matches  Various venues - refer to fixture
Aug 17
AFL Match visit MCG (Melb v GWS), 3:20pm
Aug 19
Round 4 Matches  Royal Park
Aug 22
Finals Round Matches  Royal Park
Aug 22
Official International Cup Gala Dinner Crown Casino, Melbourne, 7pm
Aug 23
AFL IC Women's Grand Final Punt Road  Oval, 2:10pm
Aug 23
AFL IC14 Grand Final MCG, 4:50pm
Aug 23
AFL 9's at Half time of Hawthorn V Geelong MCG (Half time of Haw v Geel)


Melbourne, Australia
Saturday August 9 to Saturday August 23 2014

The 2014 International Cup will be played in Melbourne from August 9 to 23. There will be 18 men’s and seven women’s teams competing.

Men’s teams: Canada, China, Fiji, Finland, France, Indonesia, Ireland, Great Britain, India, Japan, Nauru, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, Sweden, Tonga, USA.

New teams for IC14: Finland, Indonesia and Pakistan.

Women’s teams: Canada – Northern Lights, Canada – Midnight Suns, Ireland, Fiji, Tonga, USA – Freedom, USA – Liberty.

The majority of matches will be played at Royal Park in Parkville and for the first time a community round will be played as curtain-raisers to suburban, amateur and country matches.

The women’s grand final will be played at Punt Road Oval and the men’s grand final will be the curtain-raiser to the Round 22 AFL match between Hawthorn and the Geelong Cats at the MCG.

The men’s fixture is divided into three pools. Each team will play three pool matches and will then be ranked from one to 18. Teams will then be split into three groups for finals; top four, Division One and Division Two.

2014 International Cup fixture **

Saturday Aug 9           Official Launch at Federation Square & Parade of Nations at the MCG

Sunday Aug 10           Round One matches – Royal Park

Wednesday Aug 13    Round Two matches – Royal Park

Saturday Aug 16         Round Three matches – Community Round

Tuesday Aug 19          Round Finals & Division matches – Royal Park

Friday Aug 22             Third place play off & Division matches – Royal Park

Saturday Aug 23         Women’s Grand Final – Punt Road Oval, Richmond
                                     Men’s Grand Final – MCG


** Fixtures are subject change.

AFL Head of Development Grant Williams said the International Cup celebrates the passion those outside of Australia have for the game.

“There are 100,000 international participants throughout the world who share our love of Australian football,” he said.

“IC14 will bring together the best 900 players from 18 countries. I look forward to the colour and excitement that the carnival will bring.”

The IC14 twitter and Instagram accounts were also launched today. Follow IC14 on @AFLIC14 and AFLIC14

Expatriate Australians are ineligible to play in the International Cup. Teams are comprised solely of amateurs who must be nationals of the country they represent.  All players must have lived the majority of the years aged between 10 and 16 as a citizen of their nation.

The International Cup is played every three years. Previous International Cup winners are; Ireland (2002 & 2011), New Zealand (2005) and Papua New Guinea (2008).

  • 2002 marked the beginning of the International Cup concept when 11 teams competed
    • Champions – Ireland.
  • 2005 saw 10 teams compete and the introduction of a ‘community round’ within the competition with games played in Wangaratta.
    • Champions - NZ.
  • The 2008 International Cup saw 16 competing teams and 3 cultural teams.  
    • Champions – PNG.
  • In 2011 the IC grew to incorporate 23 teams. 18 men's teams across 2 divisions and 5 women’s teams.  Matches were played in both Sydney & Melbourne. Full details available at    
    • Champions – Ireland.
    • Women’s Champions – Ireland.
    • Division 2 winner- Fiji.

An Australian Football tournament being played by players from around the world is a true highlight on the AFL’s calendar, and as we continue to develop the IC and the game internationally greater opportunities exist for players to succeed at much higher levels.

We look forward to great event in 2014.