Main content

Tassie takes U16 Div 2 title

Joseph Lo Buluk in action for the World XVIII - ${keywords}
Joseph Lo Buluk in action for the World XVIII
TASMANIA saw off Queensland to complete a 2010 double by taking the division two title at the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships.

Tassie also won the division two title at the recent under-18 championships.

Scores were level at three-quarter time at Blacktown Olympic Park before Tasmania’s key forward Bayden Bryant kicked three of his four goals in the final term to seal the win.

Queensland’s best on ground Alex Sexton played well in the midfield.

In other matches, the home side NSW/ACT was too strong for the World XVIII, which has learned a lot playing amongst Australia’s elite under-16 players.

The World’s 201cm ruckman Joseph Lo Buluk was their best player of the championships.

While the Northern Territory won comfortably by 40 points, South Pacific was very competitive. South Pacific got within 18 points in the third quarter when they kicked the first seven goals. The teams traded goals in the first eight minutes of the final quarter before Northern Territory pulled away.

Tasmania 11.10 (76) d Queensland 8.5 (53)

Bayden Bryant 4, Cody Weedon 2, Jesse Lonergan, Mark Walsh, Bryden Goninon, Matthew Ling, Brennon Kendall
Qld: Alex Sexton 4, Daniel Brown 2, Tom Davidson, Shaun Crook

Jesse Lonergan, Jackson Thurlow, Mark Walsh, Henry Schade, Bayden Bryant, Bryden Goninon, Jody Reynolds, Kyle Turmine, Bryce Walsh
Qld: Alex Sexton, Daniel Brown, Michael Wyld, Brian Coleman-Broom, Andrew Boston, Jono Freeman

Northern Territory 18.8 (116) d South Pacific 12.4 (76)

Jed Anderson 5, Sam Autio 3, Matthew Cubis 2, Anthony Gugliotta 2, Joel Seden 2, Brett Rice 2, Louis Eggar, Ben Neade
South Pacific: Slim Collins 3, Donatello Moses 2, Soloman Loki, Dylan Wolfgramm, Simote Taunga, Kafoa Tuaefe,  Aviata Siuta, Taniela Kilioni, John Ikupu

Jed Anderson, Ben Neade, Braedon McLean, Matthew Cubis, Brett Rice, Michael Dunn
South Pacific: Dylan Wolfgramm, Greg Aki, Liam Ackland, John Ikupu, Theo Geruori, Peni Mahini

NSW/ACT 20.9 (129) d World XVIII 3.7 (25)

Lonnie Hampton 4, Toby Blissett 2, Craig Moller 2, Ben Vile 2, Jackson Dwyer, Angus Locke, Thomas Hargreave, Zachary Hopper, Timothy Beckmans, Dean Robertson, Joe Redfern, Lachlan Harper, Curtis Slattery, Nick Cregan
World: Lucus Devincenzi, John Cubahiro, Prince Nematswerani

Lonnie Hampton, Ben Vile, Nick Cregan, Angus Locke, Craig Moller, Thomas Hargreave
World: Joseph Lo Buluk, Kane Clark, Sean O’Kennedy, Snera Boki, Prince Nematswerani, Garang Lual, Tumi Keitumetse, Mella Opiew, Jono Elliott, Reuben Riak

Most Valuable Players
NT: Matthew Cubis
NSW/ACT: Craig Moller
QLD: Alex Sexton
Tas: Henry Schade
World XVIII: Kane Clark
South Pacific: Dylan Wolfgramm

Alan McLean Medallist: Alex Sexton - Queensland

For the latest scores, news, fixtures and profiles from the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships, please visit