Main content

Recommended videos

Highlights: Richmond v Carlton

11:17pm Mar 27, 2014

Malthouse rues costly mistakes

11:44pm Mar 27, 2014

Recommended articles

Sunday football as it happened

Sunday football as it happened

Recap Port's Showdown upset, plus big wins for the Hawks and Tigers

11:45am Apr 14, 2013

St Kilda v Richmond as it happened

St Kilda v Richmond as it happened

 Recap Friday night's MCG clash as the Tigers make their best start to a season in 16 years

04:00pm Apr 5, 2013

Carlton v Collingwood as it happened

Carlton v Collingwood as it happened

Recap Friday night's blockbuster as the Blues capitulate in front of 78,000 at the MCG

10:36pm Jul 5, 2013

Saturday football as it happened

Saturday football as it happened

Recap a day bookended by two major boilovers

01:00pm Mar 30, 2013

Fantasy review: round three

Fantasy review: round three

It was a tough round for AFL Fantasy coaches, Warnie writes

10:42pm Apr 6, 2014

Football world sends off Hafey in style

Football world sends off Hafey in style

Tom Hafey remembered as a great coach and a wonderful man

06:15pm May 19, 2014

Metro hangs on in U16 thriller

Jason Phelan  July 7, 2012 7:48 PM


Vic Metro and Western Australia have won their under-16 championship openers

THE NAB AFL Under-16 Championships got underway in thrilling fashion on Saturday with Vic Metro defeating arch rivals Vic Country by one point at Blacktown International Sportspark in Sydney.

Metro got off to a good start and held a 21-point lead at three-quarter time, but had to withstand a sensational late charge from Country, who put on four goals to one, but just fell short.

Country received good contributions from Jaden McGrath and Lukas Webb, who booted three goals each, while Peter Wright and Daniel McKenzie added two goals apiece for Metro.

The opening game of the day saw Western Australia take on South Australia and it was the Sandgropers who prevailed by 19 points.

The Croweaters got off to a decent start and led at the first break, but WA booted five goals in the second quarter to move ahead at half-time. 

Despite the Sandgropers' wayward kicking for goal, they ended up with 18 behinds for the match, they held on for the win in the final term with Cody Grace (four goals) and Jesse Watchman (five goals) doing the damage for WA and SA respectively.

Vic Metro      4.2   7.6   10.9    11.11 (77)
Vic Country  3.1   5.4    7.6     11.10 (76)

Vic Metro: McKenzie 2, Wright 2, McLaren, Goodyear, Viojo-Rainbow, Lever,
Blake, Sheriden-Ferrie, Ahern
Vic Country: McGrath 3, Webb 3, Lamb 2, Goddard 2, McCartin

Vic Metro: Urban, Moore, Wright, Lever, Brayshaw, McKenize, Miller
Vic Country: Kempster, Webb, Pritchard, McGrath, Goddard, Marchbank

Western Australia  1.5   6.10 10.12   13.18 (96)
South Australia      2.2   5.4    7.8       11.11 (77)

Western Australia:
Grace  4, Anderson 2, Miller-Lewis 2, Smith, Waterman, Deluca, Garlett, Ah Siu
South Australia: Watchman 5, Markova, Wilkie, Carey, Gregson, Stretch, Johansen

Western Australia
: Smith, Ash Siu, Lim, Winton, Tanner, Pickett, Anderson, McPhail
South Australia
: Watchman, Pobke, Donkersley, Johansen, Bampton