Main content

Recommended videos

Highlights: Richmond v Carlton

11:17pm Mar 27, 2014

Malthouse rues costly mistakes

11:44pm Mar 27, 2014

Bye bye DT dilemma

Mark Macgugan  December 7, 2012 2:30 PM


BYE ROUNDS should create less headaches for AFL Dream Team players next season, thanks to a change in scoring rules during the three-week period.
From rounds 11 to 13 of 2013, when six AFL teams will have a bye each week, Dream Team scoring will take into account only the top 18 players' scores from a coach's squad.
The change will reduce the likelihood of head-to-head matches being decided solely by who has more players out.
Bye rounds were a nightmare in 2012, as Dream Team coaches struggled to fill all 22 places in their line-ups while large chunks of their 30-man squad rested.
The Brisbane Lions, Fremantle, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, Richmond and the Western Bulldogs are the first group of teams to have a bye next season, in round 11.
In round 12, Geelong, Melbourne, North Melbourne, St Kilda, Sydney Swans and West Coast Eagles players will get a rest.
And in round 13, Adelaide, Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Gold Coast and Greater Western Sydney will have a week off.
The change is one of several to be made for 2013, with more announcements in the coming weeks.