Main content

NAB Challenge squads: Giants name draftees, recruits picked for Bulldogs

Libba's delay, Danger time, Gawn's beard Matt Thompson and Nat Edwards with your Tuesday Footy Feed
High draft pick Jacob Hopper will line up for the Giants in their first NAB Challenge game - ${keywords}
High draft pick Jacob Hopper will line up for the Giants in their first NAB Challenge game

BOOM Greater Western Sydney draftee Jacob Hopper will get his first chance to stake best 22 claims when he runs out for the Giants' NAB Challenge clash against the Western Bulldogs on Thursday night. 

GWS has named a strong squad to take on the Bulldogs, who are also close to full strength as they prepare to unveil recruits Matt Suckling and Jed Adcock at Canberra's StarTrack Oval. 

The Giants have named draftees Harrison Himmelberg and Matthew Kennedy, as well as reborn rookie Sam Reid and free agent recruit Dawson Simpson. 

Key forward Jonathon Patton will get his chance to continue momentum out of the Giants' intraclub match last week, but former Bulldogs Ryan Griffen and Callan Ward have been left out.

Both clubs have named 29-man squads, with the Bulldogs preparing to unveil key players Marcus Bontempelli, Mitch Wallis, Jake Stringer and Easton Wood.

Captain Robert Murphy and fellow veterans Matthew Boyd and Dale Morris have been included in the squad for the team's first pre-season hit-out. 

Club champion from 2014 Tom Liberatore hasn't been named as he prepares to return from a serious knee injury that wiped out his 2015 season.


Greater Western Sydney v Western Bulldogs
Thursday, 25 February, 7.10pm AEDT at StarTrack Oval (Canberra)


1. Phil Davis, 2. Jacob Hopper, 3. Stephen Coniglio, 5. Dylan Shiel, 6. Lachie Whitfield, 7. Rhys Palmer, 9. Tom Scully, 11. Jack Steele, 12. Jonathon Patton , 14. Jarrod  Pickett, 15. Matthew Kennedy, 16. Nathan Wilson, 20. Adam Tomlinson, 21. Matt Buntine, 22. Josh Kelly, 24. Joel Patfull, 26. Dawson Simpson, 27. Harrison Himmelberg, 28. Jake Barrett, 29. Zac Williams,, 31. Jeremy Finlayson, 33. Will Hoskin-Elliott, 34. Caleb Marchbank, 35. Aidan Corr, 36. James Stewart, 37. Rory Lobb, 40. Adam Kennedy, 42. Pat McKenna, 50. Sam J. Reid

Notable absentees: Toby Greene, Callan Ward, Ryan Griffen, Jeremy Cameron, Heath Shaw


1. Matthew Suckling, 2. Robert Murphy, 3. Mitch Wallis, 4. Marcus Bontempelli, 5. Matthew Boyd, 6. Luke Dahlhaus, 7. Lachie Hunter, 9. Jake Stringer, 10. Easton Wood, 11. Jack Macrae, 13. Nathan Hrovat, 15. Tom Campbell, 16. Toby McLean, 19. Lukas Webb, 22. Mitch Honeychurch, 23. Jordan Roughead, 24. Shane Biggs, 25. Koby Stevens, 26. Declan Hamilton, 27. Will Minson, 29. Tory Dickson, 31. Bailey Dale, 32. Kieran Collins, 33. Marcus Adams, 35. Caleb Daniel, 38. Dale Morris, 39. Jason Johannisen, 42. Liam Picken, 44. Jed Adcock

Notable absentees: Tom Liberatore, Tom Boyd, Stewart Crameri, Lin Jong