Main content

Final teams: Swans v Giants

GREATER Western Sydney forward Devon Smith will not take on the Sydney Swans in Friday night's NAB Challenge clash due to a knee problem.

Smith failed to train with the Giants' main group on Thursday at Drummoyne oval, instead having shots on goal in his joggers and club officials told that the 22-year-old has been rested as a precaution.

The game against the Swans was supposed to be Smith's first match of the year after he was rested from the Giant's opening NAB Challenge loss to the Western Bulldogs.

Joel Patfull, Sam Reid, Jarrod Pickett and academy draftee Matthew Kennedy have also been left out of the team with GWS coach Leon Cameron opting to play a reduced squad of 24 players.

Opposite number John Longmire has left three emerging players out of his side, with Aliir Aliir, George Hewett and James Rose not named.

Co-captain Kieren Jack will open his 2016 campaign against the Giants, alongside stars Lance Franklin, Luke Parker, Josh Kennedy and Dan Hannebery in a very strong Swans team.


Sydney Swans v Greater Western Sydney
Drummoyne Oval, Sydney, Friday March 4 at 7.10pm AEDT

Aliir Aliir, James Rose, George Hewett

Out: Devon Smith, Jarrod Pickett, Joel Patfull, Sam Reid, Matthew Kennedy

1. James Rose, 4. Dan Hannebery, 5. Isaac Heeney, 6. Tom Mitchell, 7. Harry Cunningham, 8. Kurt Tippett, 10. Zak Jones, 11. Jeremy Laidler, 12. Josh P. Kennedy, 13. Toby Nankervis, 14. Callum Mills, 15. Kieren Jack, 18. Callum Sinclair, 22. Dean Towers, 23. Lance Franklin, 24. Dane Rampe, 26. Luke Parker, 27. Daniel Robinson, 28. Nic Newman, 32. Michael Talia, 33. Brandon Jack, 34. Jordan Dawson, 39. Heath Grundy, 40. Nick Smith, 41. Tom Papley, 42. Xavier Richards, 44. Jake Lloyd

Notable absentees: Ted Richards, Ben McGlynn, Sam Reid, Jarrad McVeigh

1. Phil Davis, 4. Toby Greene, 5. Dylan Shiel, 6. Lachie Whitfield, 7. Rhys Palmer, 8. Callan Ward, 9. Tom Scully, 11. Jack Steele, 16. Nathan Wilson, 17. Steve Johnson, 18. Jeremy Cameron, 20. Adam Tomlinson,  21. Matthew Buntine, 22. Josh Kelly, 23. Heath Shaw, 29. Zac Williams, 32. Ryan Griffen, 33. Will Hoskin-Elliott, 34. Caleb Marchbank, 35. Aidan Corr, 36. James Stewart, 37. Rory Lobb, 40. Adam Kennedy, 41. Shane Mumford

Notable absentees: Jon Patton, Jacob Hopper, Stephen Coniglio, Devon Smith