Main content

Latest News

Midfield stocktake: How your onballers are tracking

See how your club's midfielders are faring ahead of the season

9:51pm  Mar 20, 2018

Debut Dog deserves his big day, says Bevo

Coach says key defender has 'shown enough' to take on GWS

9:28pm  Mar 20, 2018

Star Port trio will all face Fremantle: Hinkley

Power coach says three key players are all fit for season opener

9:09pm  Mar 20, 2018

Etihad Stadium

Ticket agent

Phone: 136 100
In person: Ticketmaster – find an outlet near you


Address: 740 Bourke St, Docklands VIC 3008
Capacity: 53,343
Ground dimensions: 159.5m x 128.8m

2018 AFLX Tournament

Friday, February 16 6.40pm EDT
Gates open: 5.30pm EDT
Entry is subject to capacity.

Field manual

Etihad Stadium opened in March 2000 and is characterised by its retractable roof. The roof, which takes eight minutes to either open or close, is 38m above the playing surface, and has provided photographers with some unique viewpoints of AFL games over the years.

The venue was purpose built for Australian Football as a replacement for Waverley Park but has hosted plenty of other sports over the years, and is recognised as one of the best stadiums of its kind in the world.

Getting there

Walk from Southern Cross Station via the pedestrian bridge to Etihad Stadium. It's around a four-minute walk. If you’re coming from outside Melbourne, V/Line services will take you to Southern Cross Station.

Trams run to Etihad Stadium from LaTrobe Street and Harbour Esplanade. They also stop in the CBD on Spencer Street, Bourke Street and Collins Street and all are a short walk to the venue. Visit Public Transport Victoria for more information.

2018 Ticket On-sale Dates

Club Member Pre-Sale* 9am, Monday March 5
General Public* 9am, Wednesday March 7
Round 23 9am, Wednesday August 8
Rounds 1-3 9am, Thursday March 1
Rounds 4-6 9am, Thursday March 15
Rounds 7-10 9am, Thursday April 5
Rounds 11-15 9am, Thursday May 3
Rounds 16-19 9am Thursday June 7
Rounds 20-22 9am Thursday July 5
Round 23 9am Thursday August 2

*excludes Round 23