tmedia
Main content

Latest Umpiring News

No more warnings on umpires' exit path

Slow restarts at stoppages as League looks to reduce congestion

5:01pm  May 16, 2018

AFL fast-tracks promising female umpires

New academy will see more women and girls in charge at the top

9:50am  May 13, 2018

'Razor' sharp as he readies for 300th game

Colourful umpire Ray Chamberlain hits a major Anzac Day milestone

7:00am  Apr 25, 2018

Umpiring Courses

Umpire Introductory Course

This course has been designed for new umpires as they commence their umpiring journey. The course can also be beneficial for all fans of the game that are keen to build their knowledge and understanding.

The course can be accessed at https://umpireafl.trainingvc.com.au. Please note the following information.

 

Umpires Coaching Academy

The AFL is committed to the education of our umpire coaches. The quality of our umpire coaches is critical to the long-term success of umpiring at grassroots level right up to the national competition.

It is clear that the experience an umpire has with their coach directly correlates with the successful recruitment and retention of our umpires.

The AFL understands that the vast majority of our umpire coaches are volunteers and complete full time work in addition to their umpiring commitments. Considering this, the AFL has been focused on providing a resource that will help coaches be successful in their role.

The AFL’s Umpires Coaching Academy is an online resource that hosts the National Umpire Coach Accreditation Scheme, National Umpire Accreditation Scheme, National Umpiring Curriculum, forums and workshops.

If you are already registered in the Umpire Coaching Academy visit umpireafl.trainingvc.com.au.

If you would like more information on umpire coaching or the Umpire Coaching Academy, email your local State Umpiring Contact. 

State Umpiring Contacts
Victoria Russell O’Toole e: Russell.OToole@aflvic.com.au
New South Wales Pierce Field e: Pierce.Field@afl.com.au
Queensland Nicholas Liparota e: Nicholas.Liparota@afl.com.au
South Australia Andrew Crosby e: Andrew.Crosby@sanfl.com.au
Western Australia Dean Margetts e: dmargetts@wafc.com.au
Tasmania Mike Brown e: Sam.Bridges@afl.com.au
Northern Territory Samuel Cunningham e: Samuel.Cunningham@aflnt.com.au