Main content

Latest Women's Football News

AFLW: Fremantle star takes 50-50 chance

Dockers defender creeps forward for the biggest kick of her life

7:00am  Feb 21, 2018

AFLW: Blues 'disappointed' in suspended Harris

Carlton star concedes club is disappointed in forward's suspension

6:05pm  Feb 20, 2018

AFLW: Plenty of pride left in injury-hit Dogs

Star midfielder says bad luck won't spell end of flag aspirations

2:59pm  Feb 20, 2018

AFLW: Bans for star Blue, Crow and Magpie

Carlton loses key forward, Magpie banned for Giant hit

11:24am  Feb 20, 2018

AFLW: Teenagers win Rising Star nominations

A Lion and a Docker named as round three's rising stars

11:19am  Feb 20, 2018

NAB AFL Women’s Competition Awards

AFL Women's Premiers

ADELAIDE has defied the odds to create history as the first NAB AFLW premier.

The Crows fought off a late challenge to upset previously unbeaten favourites the Brisbane Lions by six points in a tense Grand Final at Metricon Stadium.

BRISBANE LIONS     1.0     2.1     3.3     4.5 (29)
ADELAIDE     2.1     2.7     4.9     4.11 (35)

2017 AFL Women's Premiership team

Backs: H.Anderson 19, G.Bevan 4, T.Radan 6

Half Backs: A.Hatchard 33, D.Varnhagen 9, A.Foley 3

Centreline: D.Cox 31

Half Forwards: E.Marinoff 10, E.Phillips 13, S.Thompson 14

Forwards: C.Cramey 22, S.Perkins 28, K.Gibson 2

Followers: S.Allan 39, J.Mules 23, S.Riley 8

Interchange: C.Randall 26, R.Killian 7, A.Holmes 1, R.Metcalfe 11, J.McCormick 5, J.Sedunary 17

Emergencies: T.Thorn 15, L.O’Shea 21

NAB AFL Women's Rising Star Award

To be eligible, the winner must be under the age of 21 at January 1 2017, and must not have been suspended by the AFL during the season.

Two players will be nominated after each round of the home-and-away season.

A panel comprising the following names will then vote to award the eventual winner.

  • Mark Evans
  • Josh Vanderloo
  • Jennie Loughnan
  • Kevin Sheehan
  • Peta Searle
  • Darren Flanigan
  • Kelly Underwood
  • Ros Lanigan
  • Shelley Ware
  • Simon Lethlean
Year Player Team
2017 Ebony Marinoff Adelaide Crows

AFL Women's Best & Fairest Trophy

The officiating umpires will award votes on a 3,2,1 basis after each match as per the men’s competition, with votes to be counted as part of the W Awards Night on March 28, 2017.

As per the men’s competition, any player suspended by the AFL during the season will be ineligible to receive the award.

Year Player Team Votes
2017 Erin Phillips Adelaide Crows 14

2017 NAB AFL Women's Best and Fairest top five

14 – Erin Phillips (ADEL)
10 – Ellie Blackburn (WB), Karen Paxman (MELB)
9 – Lara Filocamo (FRE)
8 – Kaitlyn Ashmore (BL)

AFL Women’s Grand Final Best on Ground Award

To be presented to the player adjudged best-a-field in the NAB AFL Women’s Grand Final on Saturday March 25. Selected members of the media will vote on a 3,2,1 basis at the conclusion of the Grand Final.

Year Player Team
2017 Erin Phillips Adelaide Crows

AFL Women's Leading Goalkicker Award

To be awarded to the player(s) with the highest number of goals during the home-and-away season, and presented at the AFL Women’s Awards Night (date to be confirmed).

Year Player Team Goals Recruited from
2017 Darcy Vescio Carlton 14 Darebin Falcons

AFL Women's All Australian Team

The same panel that will adjudge the NAB AFL Women’s Rising Star Award will also vote on the composition of the AFL Women’s All Australian Squad.

The panel will discuss selection on a weekly basis, with official meetings scheduled after Rd 4 and again after Rd 7.

2017 Virgin Australia AFL Women's All Australian team

Defenders: Nicola Stevens (Collingwood), Courtney Cramey (Adelaide Crows), Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows), Brianna Davey (Carlton), Karen Paxman (Melbourne)

Midfield: Elise O'Dea (Melbourne), Daisy Pearce (Melbourne), Emma Kearney (Western Bulldogs), Emma King (Collingwood), Kara Donnellan (Fremantle), Emily Bates (Brisbane Lions) 

Forwards: Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows), Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Brisbane Lions), Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs), Sarah Perkins (Adelaide Crows), Darcy Vescio (Carlton)

Interchange: Jessica Dal Pos (Greater Western Sydney), Kate McCarthy (Brisbane Lions), Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide Crows), Tayla Harris (Brisbane Lions), Melissa Hickey (Melbourne), Sam Virgo (Brisbane Lions)

AFLW Woolworths Mark of the Year

THREE stars who lit up the NAB AFL Women's competition are in the running to take out the Woolworths Mark of the Year.

The winning mark according to the fans' vote will be revealed at the gala AFLW Awards on Tuesday, March 28.

2017 AFLW Woolworths Mark of the Year

Winner: Darcy Vescio (Carlton) 36% of votes

Nominees: Tayla Harris (Brisbane Lions) 34%, Darcy Vescio (Carlton) 36%, Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows) 30%

AFLW Coates Hire Goal of the Year

WITH Adelaide and the Brisbane Lions set to meet in the NAB AFL Women's Grand Final on Saturday, it's fitting that Crows and Lions players make up the finalists for the Coates Hire Goal of the Year.

The winning goal according to the fans' vote will be revealed at the gala AFLW Awards on Tuesday, March 28.

2017 AFLW Coates Hire Goal of the Year

Winner: Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows) 40% of votes

Nominees: Kaitlyn Ashmore (Brisbane Lions) 34%, Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows) 40%, Kate McCarthy (Adelaide Crows) 26%