HISTORY says a win over Richmond on Friday night will leave Fremantle well placed to take out this year's premiership.

Of the 12 teams in VFL/AFL history to win their first 10 games, seven have gone on to win the flag.

Of the remaining five, only two – South Melbourne in 1932 and St Kilda in 2004 –have failed to make the Grand Final.  

Geelong's 2011 team is the most recent example of translating early winning momentum into premiership success, having won the first 13 games of 2011 before defeating Collingwood in the Grand Final.

The Cats had form in that area, having opened the 2009 season in exactly the same way before beating St Kilda in the season decider. 

Incidentally, the Saints won the first 19 games of that season but couldn't get it done in the Grand Final.

When the Dockers host the Tigers on Friday night at Domain Stadium, a win will extend their unbeaten streak to a club-record 10 wins and potentially put more space between them and the second-placed West Coast and Sydney Swans. 

It will also move Fremantle one step closer to achieving what the club – and Ross Lyon – hasn't before.

Teams that have won the first 10 games of a season
2011 – Geelong, won first 13, won premiership
2009 – St Kilda, won first 19, lost Grand Final
2009 – Geelong, won first 13, won premiership
2004 – St Kilda, won first 10, lost preliminary final, finished third
2000 – Essendon, won first 20, won premiership
1991 – West Coast, won first 12, lost Grand Final
1956 – Melbourne, won first 13, won premiership
1955 – Melbourne, won first 10, won premiership
1953 – Geelong, won first 13, lost Grand Final
1932 – South Melbourne, won first 10, lost first final, finished fourth
1929 – Collingwood, won first 18, won premiership
1908 – Carlton, won first 11, won premiership