Main content

AIS-AFL Academy names new intake of 30

THE LATEST intake to the AIS-AFL Academy has been announced, with 30 of the country's best young players rewarded for their performances at the recent NAB AFL Under-18 and Under-16 Championships.

The 2008 squad includes eight players from metropolitan Victoria, six Tasmanians, three each from country Victoria, Western Australia, South Australia and New South Wales/ACT and two each from Queensland and the Northern Territory.

A key component of the NAB AFL Rising Stars Program, the academy provides the players with the opportunity to undertake an intensive 12-month training program.

This is the 12th offer of scholarships, with around 70 per cent of previous members being drafted to AFL lists.

Last year's No. 1 pick Matthew Kreuzer (Carlton) and fellow draftees Trent Cotchin (Richmond), Cale Morton (Melbourne) and Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn) are among the most recent academy graduates to have played senior football.

Given the quality of players in this year's championships, AIS-AFL Academy high performance coach Alan McConnell said selecting the 30 players was a difficult task.

"The depth of talent on show at the recent under-16 and under-18 championships was outstanding and selecting just 30 boys was very challenging," he said.

"The AIS-AFL Academy program has successfully fast-tracked the development of our elite junior talent both on and off the field and I look forward to an exciting 12 months with the 2008 intake."

The finals of the 2008 NAB AFL Under-16 Championships will be staged as curtain raisers to the Toyota AFL Grand Final at the MCG on Saturday, September 27.

All academy inductees will then attend their first camp at the Australian Institute of Sport in Canberra from Sunday, September 28.

The 2008 squad is as follows:

NSW/ACT: Will Langford (Easts), Trent Stubbs (Baulkham Hills), Kaine Stevens (Queanbeyan)

Northern Territory: Steven May (Southern Districts), Curtly Hampton (Pioneers)

Queensland: Rex Liddy (Kenmore), Lewis Moss (Port Douglas)

Tasmania: Maverick Weller (Burnie Dockers), Rhys Mott (Ulverstone), Luke Russell (Burnie Dockers), Joseph Groenewegen (Launceston), Ryan Harwood (Glenorchy), Jessie Crichton (North Launceston)

South Australia: Hayden Jolly (Glenelg/Plympton), Jake von Bertouch (Woodville West Torrens/Kadina), Scott Lycett (Port Adelaide/Thevenard)

Western Australia: David Swallow (East Fremantle), Jack Darling (West Perth), Mitch Duncan (East Perth/Trinity College)

Vic Country: Alex Keath (Murray Bushrangers/Shepparton Bears), Lucas Cook (North Ballarat Rebels/Hopetoun), Shaun Atley (Murray Bushrangers/Wodonga Raiders)

Vic Metro: Jack Hutchins (Sandringham Dragons/Haileybury), Joshua Toy (Calder Cannons/Aberfeldie), Trent McKenzie (Western Jets/Williamstown), Kieran Harper (Eastern Ranges/Lilydale), Tom Nicholls (Sandringham Dragrons/Cheltenham), Kyle Hartigan (Western Jets/Keilor), Koby Stevens (Gippsland Power/Wy Yung), Jordan Gysberts (Eastern Ranges/Norwood)