Main content

WA dominates U18 All-Australian team

WESTERN Australia’s championship-winning side has dominated the 2009 NAB AFL Under-18 All-Australian team announced on Saturday.

Nine of the 22 selected were part of the WA side which won the recent NAB AFL Under-18s Championships without dropping a game.

There is a WA player on every line, with WA coach Andrew Lockyer also named as the All-Australian coach. South Australia's Brenton Phillips got the nod for the assistant position.

Vic Country and South Australia contributed four players each while last year's champion, Vic Metro, have three players in the prestigious squad.

The team includes Vic Metro's Tom Scully, South Australia's Jack Trengove and WA's Anthony Morabito, all hot prospects for this year's NAB AFL Draft.

David Swallow (WA) and Andrew Hooper (Vic Country) tied for the Larke Medal, awarded for the best-and-fairest in Division One and both were rewarded with selection in the team.

Hunter-Harrison Medallist for best-and-fairest Division Two player, Dylan McNeil, also made the side.

McNeil was the only player from NSW/ACT Rams to make the team while midfielder Ryan Harwood was the only Tasmanian. Selectors couldn't find room for any players from Queensland or the Northern Territory.

The three leading goal kickers from the championships all got a guernsey with WA's Brandon Matera (16 goals) named in a forward pocket, teammate Jack Darling (14) at centre half-forward and SA's Matthew Panos (14) at full-forward.

Seventeen of the 22 players are eligible for this year's NAB AFL Draft in November.

The All-Australian selection panel was chaired by AFL national talent manager Kevin Sheehan and included Alan McConnell and Jason McCartney from the AFL as well as recruiters Matt Rendell, Bryce Lewis, Graham Hadley and Francis Jackson.

The 2009 NAB AFL Under-18 All-Australian team:

B: Andrew Hooper (VC), Blayne Wilson (WA), Bradley Sheppard (WA)
HB: Josh Toy (VM), Daniel Talia (VM), David Swallow (WA)
: Anthony Morabito (WA), Dustin Martin (VC), Mitchell Duncan (WA)
HF: Kane Lucas (WA), Jack Darling (WA), Gary Rohan (VC)
F: Brandon Matera (WA), Matthew Panos (SA), Ben Cunnington (VC)
Foll: James Craig (SA), Jack Trengove (SA), Tom Scully (VM)
IC:  Luke Tapscott (SA), Ryan Harwood (TAS),  Dylan McNeil (NSW/ACT),  Travis Colyer (WA)   
Coach:  Andrew Lockyer (WA)
Asst Coach: Brenton Phillips (SA)