Main content

Douglas claims Adelaide's B&F

Richard Douglas has won Adelaide's best and fairest award for 2010
RICHARD Douglas has capped an outstanding season by winning the Malcolm Blight Medal for Adelaide's best and fairest on Friday night.

Douglas began the year as a fringe member of the Crows squad but he played all 22 premiership season games and was a standout in a disappointing year for his side.

The 23-year-old revelled in a greater role in the midfield and led the club in inside 50s and score assists.

Douglas polled 35 votes to win the count, five votes clear of fellow midfielder Scott Thompson. Michael Doughty finished third, a further three votes behind.

Douglas said he knew his career was at the crossroads at the start of 2010 but a determination to remain at the Crows sparked his breakthrough season.

“I was on the fringe for a few years…with trade these days who knew what could happen," he said.

“I knew it was a big year for me. I set some goals and am really happy to have achieved them.”

Having been recruited from Victoria with the Crows' first pick in the 2005 NAB AFL Draft, the young midfielder conceded he had contemplated the possibility that he could eventually move to a Melbourne club.

“You try not to think about that, but it [a move] was there in my mind,” Douglas admitted.

But it seems the young midfielder, who recently signed a new deal, is set to remain a part of Adelaide’s young promising list for a long time.

“I want to be a part of the Adelaide footy club, I think we have some good things coming forward,” he said.

Douglas said Neil Craig’s decision to challenge him with more midfield responsibility had been a turning point in his development.

“Neil is a great mentor and coach. He has always believed in me and my ability," he said.

“To move up to the midfield and let me run around was great, it allowed me to play naturally,” he said.

Having excelled this year, Douglas already has his sights set on backing up with another big season in 2011.

“We are starting a new chapter at this club and it’s really exciting, there’s a lot of belief around this club,” he said.

2010 Malcolm Blight Medal
1st Richard Douglas 35
2nd Scott Thompson 30
3rd Michael Doughty 27
4th Brent Reilly 26
5th Graham Johncock 25
6th Kurt Tippett 24
7th Ben Rutten 23
8th Simon Goodwin 22
9th Scott Stevens 19
10th Nathan van Berlo 19