Main content

Mundy wins Doig Medal

David Mundy
FREMANTLE midfielder David Mundy has celebrated signing a new deal with the club by winning his first Doig Medal.

Mundy polled 190 votes to be adjudged Fremantle's best player, finishing ahead of 2009 winner Aaron Sandilands (171) and five-time winner Matthew Pavlich (160). Young gun Stephen Hill rounded out the top four with 137 votes.

Mundy trailed Sandilands by one vote at the conclusion of round 22, but strong performances in both Dockers’ finals, in which he scored a combined 23 votes, helped him finish ahead of the star ruckman.

The durable Mundy has missed just two games since his debut in round six 2005 - both this season - and he collected nine Brownlow votes this year, equal with captain Matthew Pavlich and behind just Aaron Sandilands and first-year sensation Michael Barlow.

The 25-year-old was taken with pick 19 in the 2003 NAB AFL National Draft and has played 130 games since making his debut for Fremantle in 2005.

He has just signed a new four-year deal with the Dockers.

Sandilands got off to a flyer, polling 95 votes after the first eight rounds to lead clearly from Pavlich (87).

Mundy was fourth, 26 votes in arrears of the lead, but big games in round nine against the Sydney Swans and round 10 against North Melbourne saw him poll 13 and 16 votes respectively to get back on track.

By the end of round 15, Mundy had moved into second place on 130 votes, only 13 behind Sandilands (143), and seven ahead of third-placed Pavlich (123).

Sandilands missed rounds 19-21 through injury, although Mundy, who was rested in round 21, polled only eight votes in that period.

Other award winners
Beacon award (best first year player): Michael Barlow
Best clubman award: Matt de Boer

Doig Medal top four
David Mundy - 190 votes
Aaron Sandilands - 171 votes
Matthew Pavlich - 160 votes
Stephen Hill - 137 votes