Main content

Cotchin named top Tiger

Trent Cotchin has won Richmond's best and fairest award

STAR Richmond midfielder Trent Cotchin has capped off a great season by winning the club's best and fairest, the Jack Dyer Medal.

The 21-year-old, who had struggled with injuries in previous years, polled 236 votes to finish 33 in front of runner-up Brett Deledio.

Another of the Tigers' rising stars, Dustin Martin, finished third, while former Essendon midfielder Bachar Houli was fourth and much-improved big man Ty Vickery was fifth.

Martin took the lead early in the count, which was held at Crown Casino, but Cotchin pulled away with a series of great performances in the second half of the season.

Cotchin, who played all 22 home and away matches in a season for the first time since arriving at the club in late 2007, was the clear standout performer in its 2011 campaign.

Although Deledio was Richmond's leading possession-getter, Cotchin was number one for clearances and inside-50s.

He gathered more than 20 possessions in 17 matches, his performances including a career-high tally of 38 against Geelong at Etihad Stadium in round 18.

Houli, meanwhile, proved to be a recruiting success story for the Tigers.

Like Cotchin, Deledio and Martin, the former Essendon midfielder played in all of Richmond's 22 home and away games.

Lining up at half-back most weeks, his poise and skill were a feature of his game.

2011 Jack Dyer Medal Top 10
1. Trent Cotchin - 236 votes (Jack Dyer Medal winner)
2. Brett Deledio 203 (Jack Titus Medal)
3. Dustin Martin - 198 (Maurie Fleming Medal)
4. Bachar Houli - 181 (Fred Swift Medal)
5. Ty Vickery - 161 (Kevin Bartlett Medal)
6. Alex Rance, Robin Nahas - 159
8. Nathan Foley 150
9. Jack Riewoldt 149
10. Shaun Grigg 137

Other award winners
Francis Bourke Award: Alex Rance
Best First Year Player: Reece Conca
Most Improved: Alex Rance
Michael Roach Leading Goalkicker Award: Jack Riewoldt (62 goals)