Main content

Boyd claims Sutton Medal

Matthew Boyd has won his second Charles Sutton Medal

WESTERN Bulldogs captain Matthew Boyd has capped off an outstanding season to win his second Charles Sutton Medal from defender Robert Murphy on Friday night.

Boyd, 29, polled 140 votes from Murphy (130) to win the award for the first time since 2009 and in his debut season as skipper.

Boyd and Murphy, who was awarded the newly-named Doug Hawkins Medal for his second placing, were the club's two representatives in this year's All Australian team. 

Boyd also recently polled a career-high 24 votes in the Brownlow Medal count to finish equal-third after playing all 22 of the Dogs' games, and led the competition for disposals (701), contested possessions (326) and clearances (154) in the home-and-away season.

Last year's winner Ryan Griffen placed third with 99 votes and was awarded the Gary Dempsey Medal for his efforts in front of the 870 supporters who turned out at Peninsula, Docklands, on Friday evening.

Young forward Liam Jones, who was nominated for the NAB AFL Rising Star in round 24, won the Tony Liberatore Most Improved Player Award and also the John Schultz Community Award.

Father-son draftee Tom Liberatore was honoured for his 16 impressive appearances this season with the Chris Grant Best First Year Player Award and Will Minson was presented with the best Williamstown player prize.

Defender Dale Morris, who horrifically broke his leg in round 21 against Essendon and spent time in a wheelchair as he recovered, won the Brad Johnson Best Team Player Award, and tenacious midfielder Daniel Cross was presented with the Scott West most courageous award.
Charles Sutton Medal Top Ten

1.             Matthew Boyd                          140 Votes
2.             Robert Murphy                         130 Votes
3.             Ryan Griffen                               99 Votes
4.             Callan Ward                                84 Votes
5.             Dale Morris                                 81 Votes
6.             Daniel Cross                                74 Votes
7.             Daniel Giansiracusa                    72 Votes
8.             Liam Picken                                66 Votes
9.             Barry Hall                                   51 Votes
10.          Shaun Higgins                             42 Votes
10.          Lukas Markovic                          42 Votes

Jennifer Witham covers Western Bulldogs news for the AFL Website. Follow her on Twitter @AFL_JenWitham