Main content

Vics victorious

Joe Daniher took a number of strong marks as Vic Metro beat WA
VIC METRO has claimed back-to-back division one titles after holding off a fast finishing Western Australia by 24 points in the final round of the 2012 NAB AFL Under-18 Championships at Etihad Stadium on Wednesday night.
After South Australia defeated Vic Country by 13 points in the earlier game, Metro needed to defeat WA to ensure it clinched the title.
The task looked like it would be a relatively simple one after Metro slammed home nine first half goals, but it had to scrap and fight as the Sandgropers came roaring back in to the contest in the second half.

Metro, though, steadied to eventually win 14.12 (96) to 10.12 (72).

Essendon father/son prospect Joe Daniher, son of Anthony, booted four goals and hauled in 11 marks in an unstoppable aerial display for Metro, showing a strong ability to take the ball at its highest point.

The Bombers have already committed to drafting Daniher this year and he gave an exciting glimpse of his talent, despite being inaccurate in front of the big sticks to finish with 4.6.

The father/son talent was not just limited to the Bombers, as potential Melbourne father/son pick Jack Viney (18 disposals) worked hard in the engine room for Metro.

Metro’s Jackson Macrae (21), Jonathan O’Rourke (18) and Nick Vlastuin (16) all boosted their credentials.

For Western Australia, exciting GWS mini draft prospect Jack Martin (19 touches, three goals and six inside 50s) was pivotal in his state’s stunning comeback, as they cut the half-time margin of 41 points to just 16 points early in the fourth quarter.

Laine Wilkins (four goals) and burly forward Jesse Hogan (seven marks), who is also eligible for the GWS mini draft, helped complement Martin’s key overlap run.

But Metro’s fast start was the difference, as they had enough in the tank to fend off WA’s demanding challenge.

VIC METRO                        6.2    9.6    11.11   14.12  (96)  
WESTERN AUSTRALIA    2.4   2.7      8.8    10.12  (72)
Vic Metro:
Daniher 4, Billings 3, Salem 2, Boyd, Jaksch, McDonald, O’Rourke, Wood
Western Australia:
Wilkins 4, Martin 3, Carter, McKenzie, Paparone
Vic Metro:
Daniher, Billings, Vlastuin, O’Rourke, Macrae, Boyd
Western Australia:
Martin, Paparone, Hogan,Wilkins, Carter

The views in this article are those of the author and not necessarily those of the AFL or its clubs