Main content

Three tie for Division Two medal

Kade Kolodjashnij of Tasmania in action during the 2013 NAB AFL U18 Championship match between NSW/ACT and Tasmania at Victoria Park on July 4, 2013. (Photo: Sean Garnsworthy/AFL Media)
Tasmania's Kade Kolodjashnij is one of three winners of the Harrison Medal

FOR the first time there has been a three-way tie for the Harrison Medal, with Tasmanians Kade Kolodjashnij and Toby Nankervis and Queensland's Liam Dawson sharing the honour. 

The medal is presented to the player voted the best of the Division Two competition, with the three judged the standouts. 

Kolodjashnij's consistency throughout Tasmania's title-winning campaign was evident, particularly in the midfield and off half-back. 

He moves nicely across the ground, is the perfect size for a modern player and likes to sweep forward and impact the scoreboard, all traits which will likely see him picked in the top 10 or so selections in November. 

Nankervis came into the championships wanting to prove himself as a prospect after failing to get drafted last year. 

The Tasmanian ruckman did that, by working his way around the ground, picking up big possessions, shifting forward, and playing with more presence this year. 

Dawson is not eligible for the NAB AFL Draft until next year but impressed throughout the national carnival. 

A mid-sized defender and AIS-AFL Academy member, the 17-year-old closes down on opponents but creates run too. Against Northern Territory on Thursday, Dawson had a game-high 24 disposals. 

Dawson was also awarded the Queensland most valuable player award, with Nankervis taking home that mantle for Tasmania. 

Braedon McLean (Northern Territory) and Lloyd Perris (NSW/ACT) were judged their sides' most valuable players.

Callum Twomey is a reporter for the AFL website. Follow him on Twitter at @AFL_CalTwomey.