Main content

SA, Vic Metro reps head U18s All Australian team

Eyecatchers: Under 18 All Australian team revealed Kevin Sheehan and the boys wrap up 2013 Under 18 champs
Matt Scharenberg of South Australia poses during a NAB AFL under 18 championships portrait session at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on July 02, 2013. (Photo: Justine Walker/AFL Media)
South Australia's Matt Scharenberg joins four of his teammates in the Under-18s All Australian team
SOUTH Australia's first NAB AFL Under-18 Championships title has been capped by five of its players being named in the All Australian side.

Defenders Matt Scharenberg and James Battersby, midfielders James Aish and Luke Dunstan and tall forward Darcy Hourigan have all been selected in the team, with Scharenberg and Aish backing up their All Australian selections last year.

Click here for Callum Twomey's draft form guide

Possible No.1 draft pick Tom Boyd was one of five Vic Metro representatives.

An ankle early in Boyd's second game of the championships meant he missed the last two rounds, but he was picked in the six-man forward group.

Half-forward Jack Billings made it back-to-back All Australian selections, while likely early picks Josh Kelly and Ben Lennon were also rewarded for strong showings. Mitch Honeychurch, who won Metro's most valuable player award, joined them with All Australian honours.

Vic Country didn't win a division one game but had four players make the team.

Selectors noticed Zak Jones' marking, run and tight checking and he joined other highly fancied prospects Darcy Gardiner, Billy Hartung and Lewis Taylor in the team.

Larke medallist Dom Sheed led the way for Western Australia, and was joined in the All Australian side by midfielder Patrick Cripps and creative defender Clem Smith.

Smith,17, was one of only two players in the team who is eligible for next year's draft, highlighting his outstanding campaign against older and more experienced opposition.

Fresh from winning the division two title, Tasmania's standout pair Kade Kolodjashnij and Toby Nankervis had their form recognised.

Nankervis is the sole ruckman picked in the squad, while Kolodjashnij's ability to accumulate possessions off half-back earned him his spot in defence.

The pair tied with Queensland's Liam Dawson for the Harrison Medal (best player of division two), and Dawson, a bottom-aged player who can't be drafted until next year, was also named an All Australian.

The running defender was his state's sole representative.

NSW/ACT captain and AIS-AFL Academy member Lloyd Perris was named on the bench, while Northern Territory's winless Championships was reflected by a lack of All Australian representatives.

2013 NAB AFL Under-18 All Australian team

Backs: Zak Jones (Vic Country), Darcy Gardiner (Vic Country), Liam Dawson (Queensland), Clem Smith (Western Australia), Matt Scharenberg (South Australia), Kade Kolodjashnij (Tasmania)

Billy Hartung (Vic Country), Dom Sheed (Western Australia), James Aish (South Australia), Toby Nankervis (Tasmania), Luke Dunstan (South Australia), Josh Kelly (Vic Metro)

Forwards: Ben Lennon (Vic Metro), Cameron McCarthy (Western Australia), Jack Billings (Vic Metro), Lewis Taylor (Vic Country), Tom Boyd (Vic Metro), Darcy Hourigan (South Australia)

Interchange: Mitch Honeychurch (Vic Metro), Patrick Cripps (Western Australia), James Battersby (South Australia), Lloyd Perris (NSW/ACT)

Coach: Brenton Phillips (South Australia)

Assistant coach: Adam Sanders (Tasmania)

Callum Twomey is a reporter for the AFL website. Follow him on Twitter: @AFL_CalTwomey.