Main content

AIS-AFL Academy squad named and full of talls

Hugh Goddard of Vic Country poses for a photograph during the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships headshot session, at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on July 2, 2013. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)
Victorian Hugh Goddard is a likely high pick in the 2014 NAB AFL Draft
CLUBS are already looking at next year's NAB AFL Draft as a chance to boost their key position stocks with a wealth of tall prospects available at the end of 2014.  

The AIS-AFL Academy level two squad for 2013/14 has been announced, with 14 members of the 31-man squad taller than 190cm.

A significant number of those are also seen as top-end talents, with Hugh Goddard, Patrick McCartin, Darcy Moore, Peter Wright and Jake Lever already identified as potential early draft selections.

Matthew Hammelmann, Matthew Ah Siu, Sam Durdin and Nicholas Coughlan are other tall, athletic types who have caught the eye of recruiters.

It is in contrast to this year's draft which lacks depth in key position players, apart from likely No.1 pick Tom Boyd.  

McCartin was one of five new players added to the Academy having not made last year's level one group, alongside fellow Geelong Falcon Jackson Nelson, Claremont forward Sam Bevan, Sandringham Dragon Sean McLaren and South Australian Billy Stretch.

Stretch is the son of former Melbourne wingman Steven, who played 164 games for the Demons between 1986-93.

West Australian pair Clem Smith and Jarrod Pickett are already looming as early draft selections, while Queensland and New South Wales/ACT each have three impressive players in the squad.

Four South Australians and 12 Victorians will also be a part of the group, which will travel internationally and be a part of several camps over an eight-month period.

The level one AIS-AFL Academy squad has also been selected, headlined by nine Vic Country representatives. Players from the level one intake will be eligible for the 2015 draft.

The two squads will be the last of the Australian Institute of Sport's association with the AFL's Academy, with the AIS recently announcing it will part ways to focus on Olympic success.  

Level Two

NSW/ACT: Isaac Heeney (Swans Academy/Cardiff Hawks), Liam Griffiths (GWS Academy/Ainslie), Nicholas Coughlan (GWS Academy/Murray Bushrangers/Albury)

South Australia: Billy Stretch (Glenelg/Henley), Mac Bower (Norwood/Payneham Norwood Union), Jesse Watchman (West Adelaide/Blackwood), Sam Durdin (West Adelaide/East Murray)

Queensland: Lachlan Weller (Suns Academy/Broadbeach), Liam Dawson (Lions Academy/Aspley), Matthew Hammelmann (Lions Academy/Morningside)

Vic Country: Jaden McGrath (Bendigo Pioneers/Kerang), Jackson Nelson (Geelong Falcons/St Mary’s), Patrick McCartin (Geelong Falcons/St Joseph’s), Daniel Capiron (Dandenong Stingrays/Edithvale-Aspendale), Tom Lamb (Dandenong Stingrays/Edithvale-Aspendale), Hugh Goddard (Geelong Falcons/Geelong Amateurs)

Vic Metro: Liam Duggan (Western Jets/Bacchus March FNC), Angus Brayshaw (Sandringham Dragons/Hampton Rovers), Jake Lever (Calder Cannons/Romsey), Darcy Moore (Oakleigh Chargers/Kew Comets), Peter Wright (Calder Cannons/Moonee Valley), Sean McLaren (Sandringham Dragons/Haileybury College), Duom Dawam (Western Jets/ Point Cook)

Western Australia: Jarrod Pickett (South Fremantle/Jandakot), Clem Smith (Perth/Wesley College), Bradley Walsh (Peel Thunder/Rockingham), Ryan Lim (Claremont/Hale School), Jermaine Miller-Lewis (South Fremantle/Armadale), Matthew Ah Siu (South Fremantle/Bullcreek), Sam Bevan (Claremont/Hale School)

Northern Territory: Nakia Cockatoo (NT Thunder/Southern Districts)

Level One

Dylan McDonald (Murray Bushrangers/Albury), Jacob Hopper (Murray Bushrangers/Leeton-Whitton), Jock Cornell (Murray Bushrangers/Mangoplah-Cue), Callum Mills (Swans Academy/North Sydney Swans)

South Australia: Maris Olekalns (North Adelaide/Broadview), Luke Partington (Port Adelaide/Tumba Bay), Stephen Tahana (North Adelaide/Gaza), Aaron Francis (West Adelaide/Loxton North), Ryan Burton (North Adelaide/PHOS Camden), Tim Sullivan (Glenelg/Port Macdonnell)

Queensland: Didymus Blanket (Cape York)

Vic Country: Darcy Parish (Geelong Falcons/Winchelsea), Darcy Tucker (North Ballarat Rebels/Horsham Saints), Rhys Mathieson (Geelong Falcons/Bell Park), Josh Dunkley (Gippsland Power/Sale), Jacob Weitering (Dandenong Stingrays/Mount Martha), Kieran Collins (Dandenong Stingrays/Langwarrin), Sam Skinner (Gippsland Power/Moe), Joshua Schache (Murray Bushrangers/Seymour), Gach Nyoun (Dandenong Stingrays/Narre Warren North Foxes)

Vic Metro: Nick O’Kearney (Calder Cannons/Keilor), James Parsons (Eastern Ranges/Norwood), Tom Wilson (Sandringham Dragons/East Sandringham), Dylan Atkins (Sandringham Dragons/Mordialloc-Braeside)

Western Australia: Kade Stewart (South Fremantle), Callum Ah Chee (South Fremantle), Yestin Eades (Swans Districts), Greg Clark (Subiaco)

Tasmania: Jake Sushames (North Launceston)

Northern Territory: Michael Hagan (Darwin)

Callum Twomey is a reporter for AFL Media. Follow him on Twitter: @AFL_CalTwomey.