Main content

Four players tie for Morrish Medal

Ben Cavarra of the Eastern Ranges, Josh Scott of Gippsland Power, Jacob Chisari of the Bendigo Pioneers  and George Cameron (absent) share the Morish Medal during the TAC Cup Morrish Medal Awards night at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on September 08, 2013. (Photo: David Callow/AFL Media)
Left to right: Ben Cavarra, Josh Scott and Jacob Chisari with their medals
FOUR players tied for the TAC Cup's prestigious Morrish Medal on Sunday night.

Bendigo Pioneers' Jacob Chisari, Eastern Ranges' Ben Cavarra, Geelong Falcons' George Cameron and Gippsland Power's Josh Scott provided the first four-way tie in the medal's history.

Cameron shot out to an early lead with 16 votes after 11 rounds, before all four finished on that tally.

Scott became the first player to win the competition's goalkicking as well as the Morrish. Testament to the consistency of Cameron, Chisari and Scott, all played VFL during the season.

Previous winners of the top individual honour at under-18 level in Victoria have included Dyson Heppell (2010), Matthew Kreuzer (2007) and Lenny Hayes (1998).

North Ballarat Rebels defender Louis Herbert capped an impressive season by being given the TAC Coaches' Award, while Eastern Ranges coach Darren Bewick was named the coach of the year.

Bewick led the Ranges to a strong win over the Northern Knights on Sunday to book a preliminary final berth with premiership favourites Geelong Falcons.

Calder Cannons also progressed to the penultimate weekend of the season with a 35-point win over the Western Jets, sealing a meeting with Dandenong Stingrays.

Both preliminary finals will be played next Saturday at Visy Park, before the TAC Cup Grand Final is held at Etihad Stadium on Sunday, September 22.

Twitter: @AFL_CalTwomey