Main content

Simpson claims Blues' John Nicholls Medal

Is Eddie worth the coin? Darcy and Barrett discuss where the Blues are at
Kade Simpson of the Blues in action during the 2013 AFL Round 20 match between the Carlton Blues and the Western Bulldogs at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on August 10, 2013. (Photo: Andrew White/AFL Media)
Kade Simpson has won the John Nicholls Medal for his outstanding year with the Blues

CARLTON vice-captain Kade Simpson has won his first club best and fairest, taking out the John Nicholls Medal at Crown Palladium on Tuesday night. 

The 29-year-old won the award with 92 votes, ahead of defender Andrew Walker (77 votes) and utility Lachie Henderson (71 votes).

Simpson was one of five players at the Blues to play every game in 2013, in an impressive year where he notched his 200th game.

When accepting the award on Tuesday night, the star defender said: "I was a bit shocked.
"I thought Andrew [Walker] and Lachie [Henderson] both had amazing years, and were consistent all year.

"Coming in I was hoping, but never really thought it would happen, and then later on the nerves sort of built up when I started polling a bit.

"Absolutely thrilled and, yeah, it's definitely one of my highest achievements."
Walker won the Spirit of Carlton Award and Henderson claimed to trophies, High Achiever and Most Determined.

The pair spoke highly of Simpson and the role he played around the club.
"I've been here with Simmo for 10 years," Walker said.
"For a bloke like Simmo not to have gone first, second or third in that amount of years is just unbelievable.

"Just his spirit around the ground, the way he plays and what he brings to the table each week is just unbelievable. I'm absolutely thrilled for Simmo. It's a great effort."

Coach Mick Malthouse was also full of praise for the club stalwart, who is described by his teammates as the 'heart and soul' of the Carlton Football Club.

“Kade is one of those players who shows great courage by putting his body on the line week after week,” Malthouse said.

“When the team is challenged on the field, Kade is always one of the first to stand up, paying the price physically but also reaping the rewards.

“He has had a magnificent season and has been a real worry to the opposition with his run and ball use. I congratulate Kade on this terrific achievement.”

Simpson was also awarded the Ruthless Award for his stellar season. 

Best Clubman:
Ed Curnow
Best First-Year Player:
Jaryd Cachia
High Achiever Award:
Lachie Henderson
Most Determined Award:
Lachie Henderson
Spirit of Carlton Award:
Andrew Walker
Carlton Ambassador Award:
Nick Duigan

Below: Kade Simpson and Mick Malthouse de-brief following the round 17 clash with North. Picture: AFL Media