Main content

Burton, Smith star in SA's Under-18s win

Clem Smith in action during an AIS-AFL Academy training session at Aegis Park, Melbourne, on 3 April, 2014. (Photo: Lachlan Cunningham/AFL Media)
Clem Smith shone for Western Australia in Saturday's Under-18s clash with South Australia

LIKELY top-five 2015 draft choice Ryan Burton has starred with five goals in South Australia's 31-point win over Western Australia at AAMI Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The Croweaters kicked off their Under-18 title defence in style, establishing their dominance from the outset and then holding on to run out 14.8 (92) to 8.13 (61) winners in round one of the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships.

South Australia's slick ball movement and aggressive running were critical elements in the victory, as a number of the state's prospects shone.

None more so than Burton, a bottom-aged AFL Academy prospect, who took 10 marks as a lead up forward to further enhance his reputation as one of next year's outstanding draft prospects.

Standing at 191cm, Burton's straight-kicking from all angles was a highlight for the Croweaters, while Jake Johansen established his side's midfield dominance with 30 well-earned disposals.

West Australian Clem Smith did his best to keep his side within reach, displaying pace and a strong attack on the ball in his 23 touches.

Smith is regarded as one of Western Australia's key draft choices this season.

He received able support from Swan Districts WAFL onball prospect Connor Blakely, who helped himself to 26 disposals, nine clearances and seven inside 50s.

Blakely has averaged 18 disposals in seven senior games at WAFL level this season and he carried that form into Saturday's game.

South Australian Sam Durdin, who at 197cm, is also considered a likely top-five draft selection this year was prominent in the ruck.

SOUTH AUSTRALIA            5.2    9.2    13.4   14.8    (92)
WESTERN AUSTRALIA      1.4    4.5      6.9    8.13    (61)

South Australia:
Burton 5, Johansen, Gregson, Wigg, Gore, Rose, Wilkie, Read, Miller, Neal-Bullen
Western Australia:
Bevan 2, Anderson, Garlett, Hille, Pickett, Walsh, Frampton

South Australia:
Gore, Johansen, Hamilton, Wigg, Burton, Durdin, Gregson
Western Australia:
Blakely, Keitel, Bevan, Garlett, Smith