Main content

AFL names academy players eligible for draft

Future Swan a dead-set gun A brilliant junior career will more than likely to see NSW/ACT midfielder Isaac Heeney join the Sydney Swans as a zone recruit
Isaac Heeney of NSW/ACT poses during the 2014 Under 18 portrait session at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on July 01, 2014. (Photo: Justine Walker/AFL Media)
Swans academy star Isaac Heeney

THE AFL has released the names of 35 draft-eligible players from the northern states' club academies who can be bid for in this year's NAB AFL Draft.

Any of the academy players listed may be eligible to be taken at the Father/Son and Academy bidding meeting on October 6.

The final deadline for the player's respective club to decide if they wish to nominate a player is October 3.

The list includes Sydney Swans academy product Isaac Heeney, who has been touted as potentially the best midfielder in the draft.

The Father/Son and Academy bidding system is causing angst with some Victorian club presidents - namely Collingwood's Eddie McGuire - who are putting heat on the AFL to have a "pure draft". The Swans say if they are not going to benefit from their academy why should they put their money and resources into it.

Brisbane Lions – Harris Andrews (Aspley Hornets/Wilston Grange), Darcy Cameron-Reeves (Redlands/Morningside), Liam Dawson (Aspley Hornets/Wilston Grange), Matthew Hammelmann (Redlands/Morningside), Daniel Henderson (Maroochydore), William Kristelly (Maroochydore), Cameron Stevenson (Aspley/ University of Queensland), Matthew Ubergang (Redlands/ Western Magpies).
Gold Coast – Ryan Agita (Broadbeach), Robert Blood (Southport Sharks), James Farley-Smith (Surfers Paradise), Cassidy Haberfield (Surfers Paradise), Isaac Hay (Broadbeach), James Holland (Southport), Tom Michael (Redland), Dylan Mutu (Surfers Paradise), Brayden Preuss (Surfers Paradise).

Greater Western Sydney – Logan Austin (Belconnen), Nicholas Coughlin (Albury Tigers), Thomas Faul, Jeremy Finlayson (Sydney Hills Eagles), Liam Griffiths, Brydan Hodgson (Lavington/Murray Bushrangers), Dougal Howard (Albury Tigers), Mitchell Mahady, Michael Mattingly (Corowa-Rutherglen), Jack Steele (Belconnen).

Sydney Swans – Abaina Davis (University NSW), Michael Dickson (University NSW), Jordan Foote (University NSW), Zachary Fyffe (North Shore), Isaac Heeney (NSW TAC Cup/Swans Reserves), Jack Hiscox (Sydney University), Vahid Roser (University NSW), Bradley Watson (Pennant Hills).