Main content

Around the state leagues: Mitchell best but Swans lose thrilling NEAFL decider

Tom Mitchell of the Sydney Swans in action during the 2013 AFL Round 19 match between the Western Bulldogs and the Sydney Swans at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne on August 04, 2013. (Photo: Justine Walker/AFL Media)
Tom Mitchell starred for the Swans' reserves but he couldn't drag his team across the line in the NEAFL Grand Final

Tom Mitchell and Ryan O'Keefe have starred in the Sydney Swans reserves' heartbreaking two-point Grand Final loss to Aspley in the NEAFL.
Mitchell, who shone at times in the NEAFL this year but played just six senior games for the Swans, won the Andrew Ireland  Medal for best afield in the contest at Graham Road Reserve.
The 21-year-old had 30 touches, laid 10 tackles, kicked a goal and won 11 clearances.
Despite leading by 32 points at three-quarter time, the Swans went down after allowing a six goal to one final term, which included a match-winning goal on the siren to Daniel Smith.
Swans forward Tim Membrey kicked five goals while first-year midfielder Zak Jones put the Swans back in front with minutes to go before Smith's sealer, which stemmed from a free kick.
Aspley                   3.3    9.4      9.7     15.12 (102)
Sydney Swans      3.5    7.7     14.8    15.10 (100)
Aspley: C. French 3, D. Smith 3, H. Joyce 1, J. Turner 1, J. Wagner 1, R. Holman
1, M. Payne 1, J. Williams 1, E. Sansbury 1, L. Dawson 1, R. Toye 1
Sydney Swans: T. Membrey 5, D. Towers 2, B. Jack 1, M. Wright 1, J. Hiscox 1, S.
Naismith 1, R. O'Keefe 1, T. Mitchell 1, C. Mills 1, Z. Jones 1
Aspley: R. Matthews, J. Wagner, D. Smith, R. Thomson, A. Lucy, R. Holman
Sydney Swans: T. Mitchell, T. Membrey, X. Richards, D. Towers, S. Biggs, R. O'Keefe

Footscray has won through to the VFL Grand Final after a 32-point win over Port Melbourne in Saturday‚Äôs preliminary final. 

After an enthralling battle, the Bulldogs hit the front just before the last break before booting 10 goals to five in the final term to blow their rivals away.

Recently re-signed midfielder Lin Jong was named best on ground for the Bulldogs, with fellow AFL-listed players Brett Goodes, Liam Jones, Michael Talia and Jason Johannisen also prominent.

Brett Goodes of the Bulldogs breaks away from Port Melbourne's James Magner. Picture: AFL Media

The Dogs will play the winner of Sunday's preliminary final between Box Hill and Williamstown.