Main content

Who's ineligible for this year's Brownlow?

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - JULY 11: Joel Selwood of the Cats lays a tackle on Sam Wright of the Kangaroos during the 2015 AFL round 15 match between the North Melbourne Kangaroos and the Geelong Cats at Etihad Stadium, Melbourne, Australia on July 11, 2015. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media)
Joel Selwood is ineligible after copping a suspension for this chicken wing tackle on Sam Wright

JUST 33 players are ineligible to win this year's Brownlow Medal, with the rate of players who have missed games due to suspension almost halved in 2015.

In a nod to the revamped Match Review Panel system, those ineligible to win the Brownlow Medal in 2015 has dropped down from 61 players in 2014 to 33 with two rounds remaining this season.

Star Swan Lance Franklin, Geelong captain Joel Selwood and Hawks Jordan Lewis and Luke Hodge head the list of 'ineligibles', with the quartet polling 22, 21, 15 and 12 Brownlow votes respectively last season.

Carlton, Fremantle, Geelong, Gold Coast, North Melbourne, Richmond, the Sydney Swans, and West Coast each have three players unable to take home 'Charlie' this season.

Adelaide, Melbourne and Port Adelaide are the only clubs without ineligible players on the list.

Who's leading your club's count? Check out's Brownlow predictor

The full list of 2015 ineligibles

Adelaide: Nil

Brisbane Lions: Stefan Martin (round 13)

Carlton: Chris Yarran (round three), Bryce Gibbs (round 12), Nick Holman (round 17)

Collingwood: Taylor Adams (round 15), Nathan Brown (round 20)

Essendon: Adam Cooney (round 19)

Fremantle: Hayden Ballantyne (round two), Zac Dawson (round 18), Alex Silvagni (round 20)

Geelong: Billie Smedts (round two), Joel Selwood (round 15), Steve Johnson (round 18)

Gold Coast: Matt Shaw (round one), Alex Sexton (round two), Steven May (round five)

Greater Western Sydney: Phil Davis (round eight)

Hawthorn: Jordan Lewis (round five), Luke Hodge (round five)

Melbourne: Nil

North Melbourne: Drew Petrie (round 15), Michael Firrito (round 18), Jack Ziebell (round 20)

Port Adelaide: Nil

Richmond: Brett Deledio (round one), Ivan Maric (round 14), Ty Vickery (round 15)

St Kilda: Mav Weller (round nine)

Sydney Swans: Lance Franklin (round 13), Kurt Tippett (round 13), Ted Richards (round 16)

West Coast: Elliot Yeo (round eight), Mark LeCras (round 19), Chris Masten (round 20)

Western Bulldogs: Brett Goodes (round eight)