Main content

Gray takes out Power's best and fairest again

ADELAIDE, AUSTRALIA - NOVEMBER 25: Robbie Gray of the Power looks on during the Port Adelaide Power training session at Alberton Oval, Adelaide on November 25, 2015. (Photo: Michael Willson/AFL Media)
Robbie Gray has taken out Port's best and fairest again

ROBBIE Gray has again been crowned Port Adelaide's best and fairest, winning his second straight John Cahill Medal in a close count from star forward Chad Wingard.

Gray's back-to-back win makes him just the third multiple winner of the award after both Kane Cornes and Warren Tredrea claimed four wins during their respective careers.

The 27-year-old averaged 26 possessions a match in 2015, booted 25 goals and ended the year second in the AFL for average goal assists.

Gray said the count – the League's latest in 2015 – was a final reminder for the playing group to train hard over the summer in order to bounce back up the ladder in 2016.

"Certainly a great honour to be adjudged the best and fairest by the footy club," Gray said.

"Pretty disappointing year as a team – we didn't get to where we wanted to – but we were pretty happy with how we finished off the year … this is the last thing of that and we'll move into the new season now.

"The boys have come back in really good condition, ready for next year."

He finished on 243 votes – 13 ahead of Wingard who lost the lead in the closing rounds.

Wingard gained a second All Australian selection this year and was one of the League's prime small forwards, kicking 53 goals while still averaging almost 20 touches a game.

Largely unheralded defender Jack Hombsch was recognised for his best season, rounding out the top three, while skipper Travis Boak finished in fourth place.

Boak also took out the Fos Williams Medal as the peer-voted best team man.

Remarkably, albeit unsurprisingly, big-bodied midfielder Ollie Wines won a third straight Gavin Wanganeen Medal as the club's best player under 21 years.

Fellow midfield monster Brendon Ah Chee capped a breakout season by winning the coaches awards for both the AFL and SANFL sides.

John Cahill Medal top 10
1. Robbie Gray - 243 votes
2. Chad Wingard - 230
3. Jack Hombsch - 177
4. Travis Boak - 173
5. Justin Westhoff - 156
6. Brad Ebert - 140
7. Matthew Broadbent - 134
8. Hamish Hartlett - 132
9. Paddy Ryder - 125
10. Ollie Wines - 119