Main content

Buddy wins Coleman after Kennedy fails to fire

Buddy's 10 of the best buries Blues A 10-goal haul from Lance Franklin was too much for a young Carlton side
SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 26:  Lance Franklin of the Swans celebrates scoring his tenth goal during the round 23 AFL match between the Sydney Swans and the Carlton Blues at Sydney Cricket Ground on August 26, 2017 in Sydney, Australia.  (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images/AFL Media)
Lance Franklin has captured another Coleman Medal after 10 goals on Saturday night

SYDNEY superstar Lance Franklin's final round heroics helped him clinch a fourth Coleman Medal.

Franklin trailed Josh Kennedy by five goals heading into round 23, but produced a sunning 10-goal haul against Carlton to take his tally to his 69 goals.

Kennedy, who was looking to add his name to the record books with a third consecutive Coleman Medal, could only manage one goal against Adelaide in the final game of the season.

Franklin's fourth Coleman moves him up to equal fourth all-time, alongside Fred Fanning, Doug Wade, Peter Hudson and Tony Lockett.

Collingwood duo Dick Lee (eight) and Gordon Coventry (six) top the multiple winners list with Essendon's John Coleman (five) rounding out the top three.

2017 Coleman Medal

Lance Franklin 69
Josh Kennedy 65
Ben Brown 63
Joe Daniher 62
Eddie Betts 49
Taylor Walker 49
Tom Hawkins 48
Jack Riewoldt 47
Robbie Gray 47
Charlie Dixon 46