Main content

AFLW: Vic Country dominates U18 All Australian side

GEELONG, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 17: Darcy Guttridge of Vic Country leads her team onto the field through a guard of honour made up of u16 Vic Country and Vic Metro players during the 2017 AFLW Under 18 Championships match between Vic Country and Vic Metro at Simonds Stadium, Geelong on June 17, 2017 in Geelong, Australia. (Photo by Adam Trafford/AFL Media)
Vic Country's Darcy Guttridge has been named the AFLW U18 All Australian captain

VIC COUNTRY'S Darcy Guttridge has been named captain of the NAB AFL Women's Under-18 All Australian team.

Guttridge, who was named on the half-back flank, was joined by eight of her Vic Country teammates. 

The state's defensive stocks are clearly on the rise, with five Vic Country players named in the back six alone. 

South Australia's Jess Allan was named as starting ruck and vice-captain. The sister of Adelaide's Sarah, she is expected to be selected in the NAB AFLW Draft on October 18.

Queensland was also well represented, with five players – Kalinda Howarth, state captain Arianna Clarke, Sophie Conway, Lauren Bella and Tarni White – picked in the team.

There was an even split between 18- and 17-year-olds, with 10 of each named.

Vic Country's Lucy McEvoy and Queensland's White were the only 16-year-olds to make the team.

The team was named after the under-18 Victoria-Allies curtain-raiser to the NAB AFLW State of Origin match on Saturday night at Etihad Stadium.

Victoria (with two Tasmanians added to the team) defeated the Allies in the under-18 clash by 10 points, 6.10 (46) to 5.6 (36). 

Victorian defender Rebecca Webster was named best on ground, while teammate Daria Bannister top-scored with two goals.

McKenzie Dowrick (Western Australia) was best for the Allies with 18 disposals and 10 rebound-50s.

Allan was also the recipient of the Ladder Champion Award, presented by youth homelessness charity Ladder to the player who displayed attributes on and off the field that align with Ladder's values, including commitment and passion to the team.

Allan is the first female player to earn the award; Oliver Florent, now with Sydney, won last year's award.