Main content

AFLCA Gary Ayres Award: Votes, finals week one

Dylan Grimes was judged best afield against the Hawks by the coaches - AFL,Hawthorn Hawks,Richmond Tigers,Sydney Swans,GWS Giants,West Coast Eagles,Collingwood Magpies,Melbourne Demons,Geelong Cats
Dylan Grimes was judged best afield against the Hawks by the coaches

DUSTIN Martin's heroics against Hawthorn weren't enough to earn him maximum votes in the opening week of the finals, with Richmond teammate Dylan Grimes and Eagle Elliot Yeo polling 10 votes each to give them the early lead in the race for the Gary Ayres Award for the best finals player in the eyes of the coaches.

Martin, who won the award last year, received seven votes for his 29 possessions, 10 clearances, five inside 50s and one goal as the Tigers beat the Hawks by 31 points, with Grimes' effort in defence to help restrict Hawthorn's forwards deemed more valuable. 

West Coast's Yeo was voted best on ground for his 36 touches and nine inside 50s in the 16-point victory over Collingwood at Optus Stadium on Saturday night.

Giants star Toby Greene and Demons forward Sam Weideman are next in line tied on nine votes, while their respective teammates Phil Davis and James Harmes are on eight.

Every round, the AFL coaches vote for the best players from their game. The coaches vote for five players, giving them a mark from 1-5. The maximum a player can score is 10 (with five votes from both coaches).

10 Dylan Grimes (RICH)
7 Dustin Martin (RICH)
4 Dion Prestia (RICH)
4 Daniel Rioli (RICH)
3 Tom Mitchell (HAW)
2 Kamdyn McIntosh (RICH)

9 Sam Weideman (MELB)
8 James Harmes (MELB)
4 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
4 Max Gawn (MELB)
3 Tom McDonald (MELB)
2 Angus Brayshaw (MELB)

9 Toby Greene (GWS)
8 Phil Davis (GWS)
7 Callan Ward (GWS)
4 Harry Himmelberg (GWS)
1 Lachie Whitfield (GWS)
1 Stephen Coniglio (GWS)

10 Elliot Yeo (WCE)
7 Jack Redden (WCE)
5 Taylor Adams (COLL)
5 Steele Sidebottom (COLL)
2 Jeremy McGovern (WCE)
1 Brayden Sier (COLL)

10 Dylan Grimes (RICH)
10 Elliot Yeo (WCE)
9 Toby Greene (GWS)
9 Sam Weideman (MELB)
8 Phil Davis (GWS)
8 James Harmes (MELB)
7 Dustin Martin (RICH)
7 Jack Redden (WCE)
7 Callan Ward (GWS)
5 Taylor Adams (COLL)
5 Steele Sidebottom (COLL)
4 Max Gawn (MELB)
4 Harry Himmelberg (GWS)
4 Clayton Oliver (MELB)
4 Dion Prestia (RICH)
4 Daniel Rioli (RICH)
3 Tom McDonald (MELB)
3 Tom Mitchell (HAW)
2 Angus Brayshaw (MELB)
2 Jeremy McGovern (WCE)