Main content snappers clean up at media awards

Award winners: photographers Adam Trafford and Michael Willson - AFL
Award winners: photographers Adam Trafford and Michael Willson

THE photographers dominated the Australian Football Media Association awards on Tuesday night, with Michael Willson considered the Most Outstanding Photographer and Adam Trafford acclaimed for taking the Most Outstanding Single Action Photograph.

Willson's portfolio contained several moving images, including a shot of emotional Sydney defenders Alex Johnson and Nic Newman after the former's devastating sixth anterior cruciate ligament injury, this time in his right knee.

Meanwhile, the judges commended Trafford for the "extraordinary clarity" of his image. 

"In a game where we celebrate the freak marks and high goals, the combat aspects of the sport 50-50 contests remain key, even if less widely celebrated. This image shows the brute force and strength required in the AFL," the judges wrote. 

NAB AFL Trade Radio, a production by and Crocmedia, took home the prize for Most Outstanding Digital Coverage – Media. 

Reporter Sarah Black received a commendable mention for Best Coverage of the AFLW by an individual reporter.

Anthony McDonald-Tipungwuti and Zak Jones collide in the Most Outstanding Single Action Photograph. Picture: Adam Trafford

Isaac Heeney soars over Jesse Hogan for a Mark of the Year contender. Picture: Michael Willson

Below: Michael Willson's snap of Charlie Curnow's mark

Michael Willson captured Jack Higgins' freak entry for Goal of the Year

Andrew Gaff during his marathon AFL Tribunal sitting. Picture: Michael Willson

Nic Newman in tears after learning of Alex Johnson's sixth serious knee injury . Picture: Michael Willson