Main content

Norm Smith medallists vying to present the cup

Pies in full voice, Eagle jet's mentor Matt Thompson and Nat Edwards with the latest news

THE MEN charged with presenting the Premiership Cup to the winning coach and captain after Saturday's Grand Final have been announced.

Tony Shaw will hand the Cup to Nathan Buckley and Scott Pendlebury should Collingwood win, while Dean Kemp will present it to Adam Simpson and Shannon Hurn if West Coast triumphs.

Both men are synonymous with Grand Final day, having won premierships and Norm Smith medals.

Shaw captained Collingwood to the flag in 1990, ending a 32-year drought for the club, and was named best afield in the process.


Kemp played in the Eagles' first ever premiership in 1992 and then backed up again in 1994 where he was voted the Norm Smith winner.

It will be the second time in the past four Grand Finals Kemp has been on standby to present the Cup, after he was in line in 2015 before the Eagles lost to Hawthorn.

Will it be second time lucky for Dean Kemp? Picture: AFL Photos