Main content

The 10 free agents left without a deal

Hogan halted, Scully chase, Wingard watch Friday Footy Feed with our trade news team

JORDAN Roughead, Daniel Menzel and Taylor Duryea are among 10 players whose futures remain uncertain following the closure of the NAB AFL Free Agency Period.

There was speculation on Friday afternoon Collingwood was poised to make a late play for Roughead, but no paperwork was lodged by Friday's 5pm deadline.

NAB AFL TRADE HUB Latest news, videos and live blog

Duryea (Sydney and Western Bulldogs) also attracted opposition interest but it's understood he still has the option of remaining with Hawthorn, as Roughead does with the Bulldogs. 

Menzel is yet to re-sign with Geelong as he continues to seek a two-year deal, but his manager, Adam Ramanauskas, said recently he was confident the 27-year-old would get an opportunity at a rival team if he and the Cats couldn't reach an agreement.

The Bulldogs' other remaining free agent, Tom Liberatore, is expected to re-sign shortly, while Collingwood veteran Tyson Goldsack has had talks with the Magpies about playing on.

TRADE TRACKER See every move as it happens

The futures of Hawks Ryan Schoenmakers and Brendan Whitecross, and West Coast veteran Mark LeCras remain unclear.

However, Geelong midfielder George Horlin-Smith should get to Gold Coast in a trade, with the Suns opting not to take him as a free agent given doing so could have diluted the compensation pick, No.3 overall, they received for Tom Lynch's departure to Richmond.


Now that the free agency period has closed, the remaining players can only join new clubs via trades unless they are delisted.

If they delist themselves they must nominate for the NAB AFL Draft or pre-season draft, but if they are delisted by their clubs they are eligible for delisted free agency.

Only five free agents changed clubs this year with Reece Conca (Fremantle), Luke Dahlhaus (Geelong), Tom Lynch (Richmond), Scott Lycett (Port Adelaide) and Alex Fasolo (Carlton) all finding new homes.  

2018's remaining free agents 

Jarryd Blair
Tyson Goldsack 

George Horlin-Smith
Daniel Menzel

Taylor Duryea
Ryan Schoenmakers
Brendan Whitecross 

West Coast
Mark LeCras 

Western Bulldogs
Tom Liberatore
Jordan Roughead (restricted)