Main content

Vic Metro takes out U16 Championships with big win over WA

Tyler Sonsie showed his class through the championships - AFL,Under-16s
Tyler Sonsie showed his class through the championships

VIC METRO claimed its first NAB AFL National Under-16 Championships title in 10 years, thumping Western Australia at the Gabba on Friday to confirm its carnival victory.

Alex Lukic kicked five goals in the resounding win, while Tyler Sonsie slotted four majors in another impressive display as Vic Metro took out the title with a 67-point win.

Alex Lukic celebrates a goal. Picture: AFL Photos

Sonsie's haul came as he claimed Vic Metro's MVP for its best player across the carnival.

Vic Country defeated South Australia by 16 points in Friday's other match, with Josh Rachele again exciting to claim the Kevin Sheehan Medal for the Championships' best player. 

VIC METRO                            4.0  6.5  11.6  18.14 (122)
WESTERN AUSTRALIA        2.3   5.5    8.7      8.7 (53)    

Vic Metro: A.Lukic 5, T.Sonsie 4, Z.Taylor 2, B.Howes 2, Y.Dib, J.Soligo, T.Leiu, H.Brown, J.Rossimel
Western Australia: J.McVee 2, R.Bartlett, J.Littleton, K.Dittmar, R.Bazzo, S.Marafioti, R.Farmer 

Vic Metro: T.Sonsie, Y.Dib, J.Soligo, A.Lukic, J.Sinn, Z.Taylor
Western Australia: B.Morris, R.Bartlett, J.McVee, M.Chipper, S.Neale, R.Bazzo 

VIC COUNTRY                         2.5  6.5  8.12  11.13 (79)
SOUTH AUSTRALIA               3.0   6.2   8.3    10.3 (63) 

Vic Country: T.Brown 3, B.Hobbs 2, C.Macdonald 2, J.Rachele, C.Molan, H.Hamilton, J.Davies
South Australia: C.Murley, J.Horne, M.Roberts, L.Young, I.Dudley, M.Dnistriansky 

Vic Country: J.Rachele, B.Hobbs, T.Brown, C.Molan, S.Breuer, T.Conway
South Australia: J.Horne, L.Thomas, M.Roberts, H.Tumkin, L.Young, D.Hortle 

Find Road to the Draft on Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts and Spotify.

NAB Most Valuable Player Awards 
Western Australia: Blake Morris
South Australia: Jason Horne
Victoria Metro: Tyler Sonsie
Victoria Country: Josh Rachele 
Kevin Sheehan Medallist (Best & Fairest Division One): Josh Rachele – Victoria Country (Murray Bushrangers/Shepparton Swans/Notre Dame College)