Main content

Undersized ruckman pips unlucky teammate in thrilling Sandover count

Subiaco star Lachlan Delahunty with the medal on Monday. Picture: @WAFLOfficial - AFL
Subiaco star Lachlan Delahunty with the medal on Monday. Picture: @WAFLOfficial

SUBIACO star Lachlan Delahunty has become the first ruckman since Ryan Turnbull to win the Sandover Medal after pipping teammate Kyal Horsley in a thrilling count on Monday night.

Trailing Horsley by a vote heading into the final round, Delahunty polled three votes against East Perth to sneak ahead of his captain.

>> Check out the top 10 votegetters below 

Delahunty received maximum votes for his 32 disposals, 15 hitouts and a goal, while Horsley picked up one vote for his 23 touches and a major.


It was the third time Horsley has finished runner-up.

Former Port Adelaide midfielder and 2012 medallist Kane Mitchell rounded out the podium with 24 votes, ahead of Claremont teammate and two-time winner Jye Bolton (22).

Despite being an undersized ruckman at just 194cm, what Delahunty lacks in height he makes up for with his ball-winning ability.

He averaged 27 possessions and 15 hit outs this year after returning to the ruck full-time following Zac Clarke's recruitment by Essendon.

Delahunty follows in the footsteps of 2001 winner and ex-Eagles big man Turnbull by claiming the WAFL's most coveted individual award while playing in the ruck. 

The 28-year-old will be seeking to add a fourth premiership medallion to his trophy cabinet this Sunday when the Lions take on South Fremantle in a long-awaited Grand Final match-up at Optus Stadium.

South gun Haiden Schloithe, who was crowned the WAFL's best player two years ago, capped another terrific season by polling 20 votes and finishing fifth.

The Bulldogs will need the ex-Dockers rookie, who continues to knock on the door of AFL clubs, to stand tall if they are to break a decade-long premiership drought. 

Powerhouse Subiaco has won three of the past five flags and lost to stacked Fremantle affiliate Peel Thunder on the other two occasions. 

After the addition of West Coast's reserves into the competition, creating an extra game each weekend, and in consultation with the umpires, the Sandover count reverted back to a 3-2-1 voting system this year.

Since 1984 the umpires had awarded votes on a 5-4-3-2-1 basis.

Sandover Medal top votegetters:

Lachlan Delahunty (Subiaco) 28

Kyal Horsley (Subiaco) 27

Kane Mitchell (Claremont) 24

Jye Bolton (Claremont) 22

Haiden Schloithe (South Fremantle) 20

Clint Jones (Perth) 19

Aaron Black (West Perth) 16

Ben Sokol (Subiaco) 16

Bailey Banfield (Peel Thunder) 15

Jacob Dragovich (South Fremantle) 15

Rohan Kerr (East Perth) 15