MODERN-DAY great Gary Ablett is a surprise no-show for this year's Brownlow Medal count.

Former winners are always welcome to attend the gala event, but the dual Browlow medallist - who was suspended this season and is ineligible to win it - will not be sharing the night with his Geelong teammates.

FOLLOW IT LIVE All the action from the Brownlow Medal understands he declined the offer a few weeks ago and it was down to personal choice.

Ablett won the medal in 2009 with Geelong, and in 2013 with Gold Coast. Ablett's teammate Patrick Dangerfield is the favourite to win this year's medal. 

BROWNLOW PREDICTOR Every vote, every round

Who is sitting on your club's table. Check it out.


Matt Crouch, Brad Crouch, Rory Laird, Brodie Smith.

Rory Laird at last year's Brownlow with Lucy McArthur


Dayne Zorko, Lachie Neale, Hugh McCluggage, Daniel Rich, Charlie Cameron

Brisbane star Charlie Cameron with partner Sari Jones


Sam Docherty, Patrick Cripps, Sam Walsh, Marc Murphy, Ed Curnow

Carlton superstar Patrick Cripps enjoying last year's count


Scott Pendlebury, Jack Crisp, Brodie Grundy, Steele Sidebottom, Adam Treloar

Magpie champion Scott Pendlebury with wife Alex


Dyson Heppell, Zach Merrett, Michael Hurley, Dylan Shiel, Jake Stringer

Dyson Heppell and Kate Turner at the 2017 Brownlow


Nat Fyfe, Michael Walters, Brad Hill, David Mundy, Joel Hamling

Nat Fyfe at the 2015 Brownlow Medal with THAT cane


Joel Selwood, Tim Kelly, Mark Blicavs, Tom Hawkins, Tom Stewart, Patrick Dangerfield

Superstar Patrick Dangerfield takes a selfie with fans

Gold Coast

David Swallow, Jarrod Witts, Darcy MacPherson, Brayden Fiorini, Alex Sexton

David Swallow with Georgia Homer

Greater Western Sydney

Callan Ward, Phil Davis, Jeremy Cameron, Toby Greene, Tim Taranto

Phil Davis presenting Mark of the Year at last year's Brownlow


Ben Stratton, James Worpel, Ricky Henderson, James Sicily, Jaeger O'Meara, Tom Mitchell


Nathan Jones, Max Gawn, Clayton Oliver, Bayley Fritsch, Jack Viney

Jack Viney and Charlotte Ennels

North Melbourne

Shaun Higgins, Robbie Tarrant, Ben Cunnington, Todd Goldstein, Ben Brown

Ben Cunnington with Ben Brown's wife Hester (taking the photo), and partner Belinda

Port Adelaide

Tom Jonas, Ollie Wines, Travis Boak, Darcy Byrne-Jones, Connor Rozee

Tom Jonas and Millie Jordan in 2018


Trent Cotchin, Nick Vlastuin, Dion Prestia, Tom Lynch, Dustin Martin

Superstar Tiger Dustin Martin with Bruce McAvaney in 2017

St Kilda

Jarryn Geary, Sebastian Ross, Jack Billings, Jack Steele, Jade Gresham

St Kilda skipper Jarryn Geary and Emma Giles in 2018


Josh Kennedy, Dane Rampe, Luke Parker, Tom Papley, Isaac Heeney

Isaac Heeney accepts last year's Mark of the Year award

West Coast

Shannon Hurn, Luke Shuey, Elliot Yeo, Andrew Gaff, Jack Darling

Elliot Yeo in Perth at last year's Brownlow function

Western Bulldogs

Easton Wood, Marcus Bontempelli, Josh Dunkley, Jackson Macrae, Caleb Daniel

Josh Dunkley and Marcus Bontempelli in 2018