TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest Umpiring News

Umpires available to clubs at training to help with new rules

Umpires have been available to clubs at training since December

6:45am  Feb 5, 2019

Whistleblower calls it quits after 325 games

Former Grand Final umpire retires after long career

5:01pm  Jan 18, 2019

AFL umpire named SA's Young Australian of the Year

The first female to umpire in an AFL game, Eleni Glouftsis, has received 2019 Australia Day honours

4:48pm  Nov 2, 2018

Umpiring Courses

Umpire Introductory Course

This course has been designed for new umpires as they commence their umpiring journey. The course can also be beneficial for all fans of the game that are keen to build their knowledge and understanding.

The course can be accessed at https://umpireafl.trainingvc.com.au. Please note the following information.

 

Umpires Coaching Academy

The AFL is committed to the education of our umpire coaches. The quality of our umpire coaches is critical to the long-term success of umpiring at grassroots level right up to the national competition.

It is clear that the experience an umpire has with their coach directly correlates with the successful recruitment and retention of our umpires.

The AFL understands that the vast majority of our umpire coaches are volunteers and complete full time work in addition to their umpiring commitments. Considering this, the AFL has been focused on providing a resource that will help coaches be successful in their role.

The AFL’s Umpires Coaching Academy is an online resource that hosts the National Umpire Coach Accreditation Scheme, National Umpire Accreditation Scheme, National Umpiring Curriculum, forums and workshops.

If you are already registered in the Umpire Coaching Academy visit umpireafl.trainingvc.com.au.

If you would like more information on umpire coaching or the Umpire Coaching Academy, email your local State Umpiring Contact. 

State Umpiring Contacts
Victoria Russell O’Toole e: Russell.OToole@aflvic.com.au
New South Wales Pierce Field e: Pierce.Field@afl.com.au
Queensland Damien Mitchelmore e: Damien.Mitchelmore@afl.com.au
South Australia Barry Oates e: Barry.Oates@sanfl.com.au
Western Australia Greg Gilbee e: ggilbee@wafc.com.au
Tasmania Sam Bridges e: Sam.Bridges@afl.com.au
Northern Territory Samuel Cunningham e: Samuel.Cunningham@aflnt.com.au