Main content

Round nine AFL coaches' votes: Worth the wait

Jarrad Waite outmuscles Joel Patfull during the Blues' clash with the Lions at the Gabba - ${keywords}
Jarrad Waite outmuscles Joel Patfull during the Blues' clash with the Lions at the Gabba
ANYONE who doubted Jarrad Waite's importance to Carlton just needs to watch a replay of his performance in the Blues' win over the Brisbane Lions at the Gabba on Saturday night.

It was an effort that earned the maximum 10 votes from the coaches and was
the high point of what has so far been an eventful season for Waite, who missed the opening five rounds through injury and received a suspension and a club-imposed fine after his first game back.

The 30-year-old proved the difference against the Lions, gathering 16 disposals, 12 marks (seven contested) and kicking 3.3.

Adelaide's remarkable win over North Melbourne featured a similarly influential, 10-vote performance by a forward – only this one took everyone by surprise.

Promising youngster Sam Kerridge had kicked six goals in his first seven games of AFL football but exploded with six majors in the second half alone to pilot the Crows to a famous come-from-behind victory at Etihad Stadium.

The legend of Adam Goodes only became bigger in the Swans' historic win over Collingwood at the MCG on Friday night, with the dual Brownlow medallist also achieving a perfect 10 after collecting 31 touches and three goals.

Goodes, who was racially taunted by a young Magpie fan in the dying minutes, was one of seven Swans to monopolise the voting, with Dan Hannebery and Kieren Jack consolidating their positions on the leaderboard.

It was the same story in the Dreamtime game at the MCG on Saturday night, with not a singleTiger receiving a vote. The best of the Bombers was clearly captain Jobe Watson who, with 28 disposals and three goals, earned lavish praise from his coach James Hird for his leadership.

Watson sits in second position in the coaches' award to Gary Ablett. The Gold Coast skipper was also deemed best-afield in his side's gallant loss to Hawthorn at the MCG on Sunday.

Hawks skipper Luke Hodge, after a delayed start to the season, has quietly worked his way into sixth position in the award.

Geelong star Steve Johnson, who was sorely missed in the Cats' loss to Collingwood in round eight, received 10 votes in his return match against Port Adelaide.

Collingwood v Sydney Swans
10 Adam Goodes (Syd)
6 Daniel Hannebery (Syd)
5 Kieren Jack (Syd)
4 Ben McGlynn (Syd)
3 Nick Malceski (Syd)
1 Jarrad McVeigh (Syd)
1 Ryan O'Keefe (Syd)

Port Adelaide v Geelong
10 Steve Johnson (Geel)
8 Harry Taylor (Geel)
5 Tom Hawkins (Geel)
3 Corey Enright (Geel)
2 Steven Motlop (Geel)
1 Jimmy Bartel (Geel)
1 Chad Wingard (Port)

Greater Western Sydney v West Coast
8 Nic Naitanui (WCE)
7 Daniel Kerr (WCE)
5 Jack Darling (WCE)
5 Chris Masten (WCE)
4 Josh Kennedy (WCE)
1 Taylor Adams (GWS)

St Kilda v Western Bulldogs
9 Koby Stevens (WB)
8 Matthew Boyd (WB)
6 Ryan Griffen (WB)
4 Dylan Addison (WB)
3 Nick Riewoldt (St K)

Richmond v Essendon
10 Jobe Watson (Ess)
6 Michael Hibberd (Ess)
5 Brent Stanton (Ess)
3 Patrick Ryder (Ess)
3 David Zaharakis (Ess)
2 Courtenay Dempsey (Ess)
1 Jake Carlisle (Ess)

Brisbane Lions v Carlton
10 Jarrad Waite (Carl)
6 Rohan Bewick (Bris)
4 Dennis Armfield (Carl)
4 Kade Simpson (Carl)
2 Chris Judd (Carl)
2 Mitch Robinson (Carl)
2 Zach Tuohy (Carl)

Hawthorn v Gold Coast
9 Gary Ablett (GC)
5 Luke Hodge (Haw)
4 Josh Gibson (Haw)
4 Aaron Hall (GC)
3 Max Bailey (Haw)
2 Sam Mitchell (Haw)
2 Dion Prestia (GC)
1 Lance Franklin (Haw)

North Melbourne v Adelaide
10 Sam Kerridge (Adel)
6 Richard Douglas (Adel)
5 Lindsay Thomas (NM)
3 Sam Gibson (NM)
3 Jack Ziebell (NM)
2 Ben Cunnington (NM)
1 Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)

Fremantle v Melbourne
10 David Mundy (Frem)
8 Nathan Fyfe (Frem)
5 Hayden Ballantyne (Frem)
5 Garrick Ibbotson (Frem)
1 Clancee Pearce (Frem)
1 Tendai Mzungu (Frem)

50 Gary Ablett (GC)
45 Jobe Watson (Ess)
44 Daniel Hannebery (Syd)
40 Kieren Jack (Syd)
36 Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
32 Luke Hodge (Haw)
31 Nathan Fyfe (Frem)
31 Steve Johnson (Geel)
31 Harry Taylor (Geel)
30 Travis Boak (PA)
30 Hamish Hartlett (PA)

Ben Collins is a reporter for AFL Media. Follow him on Twitter: @AFL_BenCollins