Main content

When is the 2018 AFL Trade Period?

Blues list boss Andrew McKay - AFL,Trade,Contracts
Blues list boss Andrew McKay

THE TRADE Period deadline has moved to prime time and the NAB AFL Draft will become a two-day event under major changes designed to turn player movement in an extravaganza.  

The trade deadline has been scheduled for 8.30pm on Wednesday, October 17, making the Trade Period itself slightly shorter.

WHO'S AVAILABLE? All of this year's free agents

And in a huge change to the draft format, live trading of picks will be available to clubs for the very first time.

The draft returns to Victoria for the first time since 2009, with the televised event being held on November 22 and 23.

The League has written to clubs confirming the live trading "will be introduced to provide clubs with more flexibility when making player selections and managing their lists."  

Live trading will also mean there will be an additional window after the conclusion of the NAB AFL Trade Period for trading of selections only in the lead up to draft night.

* All times are AEDT

When does the 2018 NAB AFL free agency and Trade Period start and finish?

Friday, 5 October: Restricted free agency offer and unrestricted free agency period starts.
Monday, 8 October 10am: NAB AFL Trade Period starts.
Friday, 12 October 5pm: Close of restricted free agency offer and unrestricted free agency period.
Monday, 15 October 2pm: AFL restricted free agency matching offer three-day period ends. 
Wednesday, 17 October 8.30pm: NAB AFL Trade Period closes (for exchange of players).
Friday, 16 November 2pm: NAB AFL Trade Period closes (for exchange of selections only).

When is the 2018 NAB AFL Draft Combine?

Tuesday, 2 October – Friday 5 October: AFL Draft Combine.
Friday, 5 October: Victoria / NEAFL / Tasmania State Draft Combine.
Saturday, 13 October: South Australian Draft Combine.
Sunday, 14 October: West Australian Draft Combine.

When are the 2018 NAB AFL Draft and Rookie Drafts?

Thursday, 22 November 7pm – 9.30pm: NAB AFL Draft (Round One).
Friday, 23 November 10am – 1.30pm: NAB AFL Draft (Round Two onwards to conclusion).
Friday, 23 November 5pm: NAB AFL Pre-Season Draft and NAB AFL Rookie Draft.

How else can players switch clubs?

Delisted players become free agents and can join new clubs during any of the three NAB AFL delisted player free agency windows. Once clubs have delisted a player, they will receive no compensation should that player be signed by a new club.

The key dates for delisted free agents are as follows:
Wednesday, 31 October 2pm: List Lodgement (1)
Thursday, 1 November: AFL delisted player free agency period (1) starts
Thursday, 8 November: AFL delisted player free agency period (1) closes
Saturday, 10 November: AFL delisted player free agency period (2) starts
Friday, 16 November 5pm: AFL delisted player free agency period (2) closes 
Friday, 23 November 1.30pm – 2.30pm: AFL delisted player free agency period (3)
Tuesday, 27 November 2pm: Final AFL club list lodgement