Main content

AFL announces 10 life membership inductees

Adem Yze qualified for life membership last year - ${keywords}
Adem Yze qualified for life membership last year
FORMER Melbourne player Adem Yze's name will been etched into the record books, with the retired forward set to receive one of 10 AFL life memberships this year.

Yze, who hung up the boots last season after a 14-year career, qualified for the membership in 2008 after reaching 300 games of service.

He was joined by six other automatic inductees - Adelaide's Tyson Edwards, North Melbourne's Brent Harvey, Sydney Swan Michael O'Loughlin, Richmond's Matthew Richardson, and senior field umpiring pair Shane McInerney and Stephen McBurney.

Yze is the only retiree from last season who will be inducted at the 2009 AFL Annual General Meeting in March.

Three other servants of the game - legend of the game Darrel Baldock, former AFL Commissioner Colin Carter and former Hawthorn President Ian Dicker – will also become life members after the Commission decided to recognise their involvement.
St Kilda's Gary Colling has also been awarded the Jack Titus Service Award for Conspicuous Service to the game, after more than 40 years as a player, coach and administrator.
AFL CEO Andrew Demetriou said the Commission was delighted to have 11 individuals to honour with induction.
"Life membership of the sport you have served is the ultimate acknowledgement by everyone in the game of your efforts," Demetriou said.
"Our new inductees are extremely deserving and have done so much in the game to make our sport as strong as it is.
"The AFL, on behalf of our Commission and our clubs, congratulates each of our new life members on their accomplishments and we look forward to formally acknowledging them at the AGM just before the launch of the 2009 Toyota AFL Premiership Season."


Tyson Edwards (Adelaide)
289 games
30 pre-season games
One State of Origin game
Two International Rules matches
1997, 1998 Premierships
Brent Harvey (North Melbourne)
264 games
27 pre-season games
Two State of Origin games
Nine International Rules matches
1999 Premiership
2003, 2005, 2007, 2008 Best and Fairest
2000, 2005, 2007, 2008 All Australian
1999 Whitten Medallist
2003 Stynes Medallist
2008 Australian captain
Stephen McBurney (AFL Umpire)
Senior List Debut 1993
287 Premiership Matches
One State of Origin Match
Two International Rules Matches
35 Pre-Season Matches
Grand Final Umpire 2002, 2003, 2007
All Australian Umpire 2003, 2007
International Rules Series 2008
Shane McInerney (AFL Umpire)
Senior List Debut 1993
268 Premiership Matches
38 Pre-Season Matches
Grand Final Umpire 2004, 2007
Michael O'Loughlin (Sydney)
286 games
14 pre-season games
Two State of Origin games
Four International Rules matches
2005 Premiership
1998 Best and Fairest
Sydney Swans Club Games Record Holder
1997, 2000 All Australian
1998 Fos Williams Medallist
Indigenous Team of the Century
Matthew Richardson (Richmond)
276 games
20 pre-season games
Four State of Origin games
Two International Rules matches
2007 Best and Fairest
1996, 1999, 2008 All Australian
1996 Jesaulenko Medallist
Richmond Team of the Century
Adem Yze (Melbourne)
271 games
25 pre-season games
Four International Rules matches
2001 Best and Fairest
2002 All Australian
Darrel Baldock
Played 71 games for East Devonport 1955-58
Played 158 games for LaTrobe 1959-61, 1969-74
Played 119 games for St Kilda, 1962-68, kicking 237 goals
Played 4 games for New Norfolk 1975
Played 10 games for Victoria, kicking 23 goals
Played 15 games for Tasmania
Played 20 games for NWFU
East Devonport Best and Fairest 1955, 1956, 1957
St Kilda Best and Fairest 1962, 1963, 1965
St Kilda premiership 1966
LaTrobe premierships 1969, 1970, 1971, 1972
St Kilda captain 1963-68
St Kilda leading goalkicker 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965
Wander (NWFU) Medallist 1957, 1959, 1969
All Australian 1961, 1966 (captain)
St Kilda Team of the Century (centre half-forward and captain)
Tasmanian Team of the Century (half forward and captain)
Colin Carter
AFL Commissioner 1993-2008
Geelong FC Director 1987-93
Major achievements:
•    Prepared the report 'Establishing the Basis for Future Success', adopted by the VFL Commission as the strategy for the competition, encompassing equalisation, ground rationalisation and growing the national competition.
•    Initiated the project that led to the eventual relocation of the AFL Members from Waverley to the MCG and the building of the Great Southern Stand.
•    Led the AFL's review of football development and grassroots football in 2001.

Ian Dicker

Hawthorn FC President 1996-2005
Key Achievements:
- Built club membership base to highest levels in club history
- Home games relocated to the MCG
- Cleared all bank debt
- Introduction of education and life skill programs for players for life after football
- Relationship built with Box Hill FC
- Agreement with the Tasmanian government for four games a year at Aurora Stadium
Jack Titus Service Award
Gary Colling, St Kilda
265 games between 1969 and 1981
Captained St Kilda in 1978
After retiring, continued to serve the Saints in a variety of off-field roles.