Main content

SA claims U16s title despite loss

${customImageCaption} - ${keywords}
SOUTH Australia has claimed the Division 1 title at the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships despite a three-point loss to Vic Country on Friday.

SA finished with the same 2-1 record as Western Australia, but claimed the championship on countback by virtue of its win over WA on Tuesday.

Vic Country's Corie Intveen and Nicholas Tuddenham were among their side's best in a performance that delighted coach Garry Lyon, while Nick Amato and Jack Viney shone for SA.

However, the day belonged to Western Australia’s Chris Yarran, who was outstanding with seven goals in his side's 78-point win against Vic Metro.

Yarran finished the championships on a high after being awarded the Kevin Sheehan Medal for the best and fairest player in Division 1.

Teammate Corey Chalmers was named WA's MVP, while Jack Viney (SA), Lachie Whitfield (Vic Country) and Nick Vlastuin (Vic Metro) received the same honours for their sides.

Results from the 2010 NAB AFL Under-16 Championships division one matches played at Blacktown Olympic Park on Friday:

Western Australia 19.7 (121) defeated  Vic Metro 6.7 (43)
Chris Yarran 7, Corey Chalmers 2, Marco Paparone 2, Dayle Garlett , Kamdyn McIntosh, Shaquille McKenize, Brendon Lim, Chris Warrell,  Josh Munns, Brant Colledge, Chris Deluca
Vic Metro: Rory Atkins, Jonathon O’Rourke, Kristian Jaksch, Nathan Hrovat, Aidan Coor, Jason Ashby
Corey Chalmers, Chris Yarran, Brendon Lim, Chris Deluca, Marco Paparone
Vic Metro: Anthony Piva, Nick Vlastuin, Nathan Hrovat, James Stewart, Darcy Bailey

Vic Country 9.7 (61) defeated South Australia 7.16 (58)
Vic Country:
Shannen Lange 2, Brody Mahoney 2, Jason Pongracic, Jake Stringer, Michael Close, Kaine Allen, Dylan Weir
South Australia: Sam Mayes 2, Ben Kennedy, Nick Amato, Michael McMahon, Nathan Stark, Nick Hyde
Vic Country:
Corie Intveen, Nicholas Tuddenham, Lachie Whitfield, Brad Crouch, Billy Rolfe, Michael Close, Lewis Pierce, Jason Pongracic
South Australia: Nick Amato, Jack Viney, Joseph Sinor, George Hannaford, Nathan Stark

The 2010 NAB AFL Under 16 Championships conclude on Saturday, July 10 with Division 2 matches to be played at Blacktown Olympic Park:

10am Queensland v Tasmania
12.15pm South Pacific v Northern Territory
2.15pm NSW/ACT v World XVIII

For the latest scores, news, fixtures and profiles from the NAB AFL Under-16 Championships visit