Main content

Coaches votes: round 13

Kane Cornes shared best afield honours with Chad Wingard against the Sydney Swans - ${keywords}
Kane Cornes shared best afield honours with Chad Wingard against the Sydney Swans
VETERANS Kane Cornes and Brent Moloney are enjoying late-career renaissance periods and the hardened midfielders were rewarded by the coaches for playing pivotal roles in upset wins over premiership contenders in round 13.

In the AFL Coaches' Association champion player award, Moloney was nominated best-afield in the Brisbane Lions' remarkable come-from-behind win over Geelong at the Gabba, while Cornes shared top honours with talented youngster Chad Wingard as the Power over-ran reigning premier Sydney at AAMI Stadium.

Two Swans received votes against Port, co-captain Kieren Jack was awarded three – to move into third place on the leaderboard behind Gold Coast skipper Gary Ablett and fellow Swan Dan Hannebery – and Josh Kennedy was given one.

Hawthorn star Jarryd Roughead was one of three players to earn the maximum 10 votes, again outshining his close friend Lance Franklin, who received one vote in their win over West Coast. The others to receive the full 10 votes were Fremantle's Nat Fyfe and St Kilda's Leigh Montagna.

In Fremantle's comprehensive victory over North Melbourne, Fyfe was superbly supported by fellow midfielder Michael Barlow (seven), who could miss the Dockers' big clash with Geelong on Saturday night with a facial injury.

Richmond defender Bachar Houli (nine) and Western Bulldogs champion Ryan Griffen further enhanced their growing reputations over the weekend.

Griffen is now equal-eighth, with Tiger Brett Deledio, in the coaches' award.

Hawthorn v West Coast
10 Jarryd Roughead (Haw)
6 Luke Shuey (WCE)
4 Brian Lake (Haw)
3 Jack Gunston (Haw)
3 Luke Hodge (Haw)
2 Josh Kennedy (WCE),
1 Luke Breust (Haw)
1 Lance Franklin (Haw)

Port Adelaide v Sydney
8 Kane Cornes (Port)
8 Chad Wingard (Port)
7 Matthew Broadbent (Port)
3 Kieren Jack (Syd)
2 Brad Ebert (Port)
1 Domenic Cassisi (Port)
1 Josh Kennedy (Syd)

St Kilda v Melbourne
10 Leigh Montagna (St K)
7 Farren Ray (St K)
4 Colin Garland (Melb)
4 Jack Steven (St K)
4 Colin Sylvia (Melb)
1 Terry Milera (St K)

Western Bulldogs v Richmond

9 Bachar Houli (Rich)
8 Ryan Griffen (WB)
4 Daniel Jackson (Rich)
3 Dustin Martin (Rich)
2 Reece Conca (Rich)
2 Steven Morris (Rich)
2 Jack Riewoldt (Rich)

Fremantle v North Melbourne
10 Nathan Fyfe (Frem)
7 Michael Barlow (Frem)
5 Garrick Ibbotson (Frem)
5 Andrew Swallow (North)
2 Michael Johnson (Frem)
1 Lee Spurr (Frem)

Brisbane Lions v Geelong
9 Brent Moloney (Bris)
7 Daniel Rich (Bris)
5 Steve Johnson (Geel)
3 Joel Selwood (Geel)
3 Mathew Stokes (Geel)
2 Matthew Leuenberger (Bris)
1 Jimmy Bartel (Geel)

73 Gary Ablett (GC)
54 Daniel Hannebery (Syd)
53 Kieren Jack (Syd)
50 Patrick Dangerfield (Adel)
46 Scott Pendlebury (Coll)
46 Jobe Watson (Ess)
43 Nathan Fyfe (Frem)
39 Brett Deledio (Rich)
39 Ryan Griffen (WB)
38 Travis Boak (Port)