Main content

Bumper free agency crop looming in 2018

Rory Sloane is out of contract at the end of the season - AFL,Trade,Free Agency
Rory Sloane is out of contract at the end of the season

NOT EVEN the early re-signings of star talls Max Gawn and Harry Taylor have dimmed the intrigue about the 2018 free agency crop.

Melbourne's No.1 ruckman Gawn won't be out of contract until 2021 since recommitting in October, while swingman Taylor added another year and will be at Geelong through 2019.

Gold Coast co-captain Tom Lynch, Adelaide midfielder Rory Sloane and West Coast ball-winner Andrew Gaff – all Victorians – and fellow Eagle Jeremy McGovern headline those still up for grabs.

Several others may be entering their final season in the AFL as their contract runs out, but that coveted quartet is unlikely to be alone in attracting rival interest.

There are 13 All Australians among the remaining candidates, with a player such as Collingwood's Ben Reid potentially gettable after being dropped in 2017 and being tried forward again.

Reid's All Australian nod as a defender was back in 2011, but he turns only 29 next year and might appeal to a club keen for a quality swingman.

West Coast and Fremantle are certain to be paying close attention in 2018 to Tiger Reece Conca, who has played 15 games in three seasons and 86 in total after being the No.6 pick in 2010.

Foot and hamstring injuries have held the Perth product back and he would have been bitterly disappointed to miss Richmond's flag triumph after a bright start to the year in defence.

The West Australian clubs – both in rebuilding mode – might also inquire about talented Magpie forward Alex Fasolo and reliable Melbourne defender Neville Jetta.'s 2018 free agency list 


Richard Douglas
David Mackay
Andy Otten
Rory Sloane
Brodie Smith

Brisbane Lions

Rohan Bewick
Ryan Lester 


Marc Murphy
Kade Simpson 


Jarryd Blair
Alex Fasolo
Tyson Goldsack
Ben Reid
Josh Thomas


Tom Bellchambers 


Hayden Ballantyne
Michael Johnson
David Mundy
Aaron Sandilands 


Cameron Guthrie
George Horlin-Smith 

Gold Coast

Jarrod Harbrow
Tom Lynch
Tom Nicholls 


Shaun Burgoyne
Taylor Duryea
Paul Puopolo
Ryan Schoenmakers
Brendan Whitecross


Neville Jetta
Tom McDonald

North Melbourne

Shaun Atley
Scott Thompson
Sam Wright  

Port Adelaide

Justin Westhoff 


Reece Conca
Ben Griffiths
Shaun Grigg
Dylan Grimes
Bachar Houli 

St Kilda

Sam Gilbert  


Heath Grundy
Jarrad McVeigh
Nick Smith 

West Coast

Andrew Gaff
Shannon Hurn
Mark LeCras
Scott Lycett
Eric Mackenzie
Jeremy McGovern

Western Bulldogs

Luke Dahlhaus
Tom Liberatore
Dale Morris
Jordan Roughead
Mitch Wallis