GREATER Western Sydney players featured across two Grand Finals over the weekend, with deciders being played in the AFL Sydney and AFL Canberra competitions.


MANLY Warringah capped off a star first season in the premier division of the AFL Sydney women's competition, winning the Grand Final by 21 points.

GWS key forward Bec Privitelli – playing for Inner West Magpies – booted two goals, but it wasn't enough to get her side over the line in the 6.10 (46) to 4.1 (25) loss.

Rebecca Privitelli in action for the Giants. Picture: AFL Photos

The Wolves were deserving premiers, having dropped just one home-and-away match this year, but the Magpies had recorded an impressive finals series, having originally finished fifth.

Jessica Doyle kicked three for the victors, with Ashleigh Carter named their best, while Elly Jenkins flew the flag for the Magpies. 

Giants midfielder Emily Goodsir was also among the best, playing for Manly Warringah.

 Mostyn Medal (competition best and fairest)

  1. Claudia Gunjaca (UTS) 16 votes
  2. Lael Kassem (Inner West Magpies) 11
  3. Erin McKinnon (Manly Warringah Wolves/GWS) 10
    Nicola Barr (North Shore/GWS) 10
    Kate Reynolds (North Shore) 10

Belinda Pride Trophy (leading goalkicker)
Brenna Tarrant (East Coast Eagles/Melbourne) 17 goals 

MANLY WARRINGAH WOLVES    0.1    3.8    5.9    6.10    (46)
INNER WEST MAGPIES    0.0    1.1    3.1    4.1    (25)


Manly Warringah: Doyle 3, A. Carter, Goodsir, Johnson
Inner West: Privitelli 2, Todd, Behan


Manly Warringah: A.Carter, Doyle, Goodsir, Roditis, Johnson, Layton
Inner West: Jenkins, Behan, Freckleton, Todd, Montgomerie, Glynn

INS, OUTS, TRADES, DRAFTEES, ROOKIES Every club's complete list for 2021


Two new AFLW draftees featured in AFL Canberra' Grand Final, which saw Belconnen Magpies triumph by 10 points over Queanbeyan Tigers.

Giants recruit Tarni Evans kicked a goal for the Tigers, while fellow new teammate Emily Pease was named in the Magpies' best. 

Former Giant Maggie Gorham also starred for the Magpies, who held the Tigers to just one behind in the final term while adding 1.3 themselves in the tightly fought affair.

Queanbeyan had come into the match red-hot favourites, having won all eight of its home-and-away matches with a whopping percentage of 1,328.

But Belconnen avenged last year's Grand Final loss to the Tigers to record its first top-flight women's flag.

Bainrot Medal (competition best and fairest)

  1. Karina Demant (Eastlake Demons) 15 votes
  2. Ally Morphett (Belconnen Magpies) 12
  3. Catherine Brown (Eastlake Demons) 9
  4. Jayde Hamilton (Queanbeyan Tigers) 8
    Kate Greenacre (Tuggeranong Valley AFC) 8
    Tarni Evans (Queanbeyan Tigers/GWS) 8
The Belconnen Magpies celebrate the 2020 UNSW Canberra Senior Women's premiership. Picture: AFL Canberra

QUEANBEYAN TIGERS    0.0    4.0    5.0    5.1    (31)
BELCONNEN MAGPIES    1.1    3.1    5.2    6.5    (41)


Queanbeyan: Squires, Evans, Stramandinoli, Czubara, Campbell
Inner West: Wallett 2, Gorham, Reid, Z. Allen, Zouch


Queanbeyan: Ashley-Cooper, Res, McGrath, Ross, Jakim
Belconnen: Morphett, Gorham, Pease, A. Allen, Pellow, Kemp