Main content

Recommended videos

Great coaching sprays

07:00am Aug 20, 2013

Bombers' time trial

02:00pm Nov 7, 2013

Draft memories

04:11pm Nov 15, 2013

Liston win shows depth of Hawks, Cats lists

Ben Guthrie  September 3, 2013 10:58 AM


Jordan Schroder was one of three winners of the VFL's JJ Liston Trophy

HAWTHORN and Geelong finished on top of the AFL ladder and their great depth was highlighted by Jordan Schroder and Mitch Hallahan becoming joint winners of the 2013 VFL JJ Liston Trophy on Monday night.

Schroder (Geelong), Hallahan (Box Hill Hawks) and former GWS Giants-listed Steve Clifton (North Ballarat) finished at the top of the leaderboard at the end of the regular season.

The 20-year-old Schroder became the youngest winner since Hawthorn star Sam Mitchell's triumph in 2002, polling in seven of his 11 games at VFL level.

Schroder also played four senior games for the Cats between rounds seven and 10 and sealed his joint victory with maximum votes in his club's 201-point demolition of Bendigo Gold in the final round.

Hallahan was injured for the final two rounds of the season, but that did not stop him from becoming Box Hill's fourth Liston winner and the first since Mitchell.

Hallahan did not poll a vote in the count last year and Schroder managed just one.

Hallahan was taken by the Hawks with pick No. 38 in the 2010 NAB AFL Draft, while Schroder was selected pick No. 54 in the same draft.

Clifton has been a long-time star in the VFL and earned his chance with the Giants, playing five games before being delisted at the end of the 2012 season.

Name Club Votes
M. Hallahan Box Hill Hawks 17
J. Schroder Geelong Cats 17
S. Clifton North Ballarat
K. Lambert Northern Blues
S. Iles Box Hill Hawks
A. Krakouer  Collingwood 12
J. Hogan Casey Scorpions
J. Magner  Casey Scorpions
M. Sewell  North Ballarat
J. Scipione  Port Melbourne
J. Moore Werribee Tigers 11
W. Wheeler Williamstown 11