Main content

Recommended videos

Highlights: Richmond v Carlton

11:17pm Mar 27, 2014

Malthouse rues costly mistakes

11:44pm Mar 27, 2014

Recommended articles

Sunday football as it happened

Sunday football as it happened

Recap Port's Showdown upset, plus big wins for the Hawks and Tigers

11:45am Apr 14, 2013

St Kilda v Richmond as it happened

St Kilda v Richmond as it happened

 Recap Friday night's MCG clash as the Tigers make their best start to a season in 16 years

04:00pm Apr 5, 2013

Carlton v Collingwood as it happened

Carlton v Collingwood as it happened

Recap Friday night's blockbuster as the Blues capitulate in front of 78,000 at the MCG

10:36pm Jul 5, 2013

Saturday football as it happened

Saturday football as it happened

Recap a day bookended by two major boilovers

01:00pm Mar 30, 2013

Fantasy review: round three

Fantasy review: round three

It was a tough round for AFL Fantasy coaches, Warnie writes

10:42pm Apr 6, 2014

Football world sends off Hafey in style

Football world sends off Hafey in style

Tom Hafey remembered as a great coach and a wonderful man

06:15pm May 19, 2014

Hawks name stars, gun Blue missing

Ben Guthrie  February 16, 2016 12:00 PM

AFL 2016 Portraits - Hawthorn

Former Dee Jack Fitzpatrick to step out in the brown and gold for the first time

HAWTHORN will field a powerful squad, made up of 13 members of its 2015 premiership side, in its first hit-out of the season against Carlton in Thursday's NAB Challenge opener at Aurora Stadium in Launceston.  

The Blues will be without reigning best-and-fairest winner Patrick Cripps, but Bryce Gibbs, Kade Simpson and Matthew Kreuzer are all set to play

Carlton skipper Marc Murphy has been named but said on Tuesday that he was unlikely to play.  

The Hawks' star-studded team features star midfielders Luke Hodge, Sam Mitchell and Jordan Lewis, with Josh Gibson and Ben Stratton anchoring the defence.  

However, Hodge will not captain the side with defender Grant Birchall to fill that role.  

Last year's Norm Smith medallist Cyril Rioli has not been picked, with experienced utility Shaun Burgoyne and sharpshooter Jack Gunston also left out.  

Delisted Melbourne forward Jack Fitzpatrick will be given an opportunity to press his claim to replace Jarryd Roughead – who is out until mid-season after knee surgery – alongside Gunston.  

New Blues coach Brendon Bolton will be hoping to see positive signs out of the club's two top draft picks with Jacob Weitering and Harry McKay included in the squad.  

Carlton recruits Jed Lamb (Greater Western Sydney), Sam Kerridge (Adelaide), Andrew Phillips (GWS), Daniel Gorringe (Gold Coast) and Matthew Wright (Adelaide) will be given the chance to impress in the lead-up to the 2016 season.

Hawthorn v Carlton, Aurora Stadium, 7.10pm AEDT

3. Jordan Lewis, 4. Billy Hartung, 5. Sam Mitchell, 6. Josh Gibson, 7. Ben McEvoy, 8. Taylor Duryea, 10. Bradley Hill, 11. Brendan Whitecross, 13. Jonathan O'Rourke, 14. Grant Birchall, 15. Luke Hodge, 16. Isaac Smith, 17. Angus Litherland, 20. Dallas Willsmore, 21. James Sicily, 22. Luke Breust, 23. Tim O'Brien, 24. Ben Stratton, 25. Ryan Schoenmakers, 28. Paul Puopolo, 30. Kaiden Brand, 31. Zac Webster, 32. Jack Fitzpatrick, 34. Kurt Heatherley, 41. Daniel Howe, 42. Teia Miles, 43. Marc Pittonet, 46. Lachlan Langford, 47. Shem-Kalvin Tatupu

3. Marc Murphy, 4. Bryce Gibbs, 6. Kade Simpson, 8. Matthew Kreuzer, 10. Harry McKay, 11. Sam Kerridge, 12. Blaine Boekhorst, 13. Jed Lamb, 14. Liam Jones, 15. Sam Docherty, 17. Sam Rowe, 22. Jason Tutt, 23. Jacob Weitering, 24. Mark Whiley, 30. Charlie Curnow, 31. Matthew Dick, 32. Nick Graham, 33. Andrejs Everitt, 34. Andrew Phillips, 35. Ed Curnow, 37. Daniel Gorringe, 38. Ciaran Byrne, 39. Dale Thomas, 40. Michael Jamison, 41. Levi Casboult, 42. Zach Tuohy, 43. Simon White, 45. Andrew Gallucci, 46. Matthew Wright