Main content

Final teams: Geelong v Collingwood

Patrick Dangerfield takes to the Simonds Stadium turf before the clash with Collingwood - ${keywords}
Patrick Dangerfield takes to the Simonds Stadium turf before the clash with Collingwood

GEELONG'S Daniel Menzel will play his first pre-season game since 2011 after being included in Friday night's team along with three other Cats who have battled injuries in recent seasons, Nathan Vardy, Lincoln McCarthy and Josh Cowan.

The talented quartet had very good pre-seasons, with McCarthy's return after a foot injury a surprise.

Geelong has also rolled out the big guns, including Patrick Dangerfield, Zac Smith and Lachie Henderson for their first game in the pre-season.

Collingwood decided to hold back youngster Darcy Moore until at least the second week of the NAB Challenge, giving emerging forward Corey Gault a chance to impress selectors.

Moore was impressive in the Magpies' intra-club on Thursday night after a debut season that yielded nine games but he'll have to wait until at least the game against North Melbourne at Wagga next Saturday.

Gault kicked five goals in the intra-club and looks in good shape and will also have Mason Cox for support.

The Magpies will have their first look at James Aish against opposition with Brent Macaffer playing his first senior game since round 22, 2014.


Simonds Stadium, 7.10pm AEDT, February 26 

Out: Josh Caddy, Michael Luxford, Tom Ruggles

Out: Tim Golds, Tom Phillips, Darcy Moore

1. Rhys Stanley, 4. Andrew Mackie, 5. Nakia Cockatoo, 6. Lincoln McCarthy, 7. Harry Taylor, 8. Jake Kolodjashnij, 9. Zac Smith, 10. Daniel Menzel, 11. Darcy Lang, 18. Josh Cowan, 21. Jordan Murdoch, 22. Mitch Duncan, 24. Jed Bews, 25. Lachie Henderson, 26. Tom Hawkins, 27. Sam Menegola, 28. Cory Gregson, 29. Cameron Guthrie, 30. Nathan Vardy, 32. Steven Motlop, 33. George Horlin-Smith, 35. Patrick Dangerfield, 39. Shane Kersten, 40. Jackson Thurlow, 44. Corey Enright, 46. Mark Blicavs

1. Alex Fasolo, 2. Jordan de Goey, 3. Brent Macaffer, 4. Brodie Grundy, 9. Jesse White, 11. Jarryd Blair, 13. Taylor Adams, 14. James Aish, 15. Jarrod Witts, 16. Nathan Brown, 17. Jonathon Marsh, 18. Travis Varcoe, 19. Levi Greenwood, 22. Steele Sidebottom, 25. Jack Crisp, 28. Ben Sinclair, 29. Tim Broomhead, 31. Jackson Ramsay, 34. Alan Toovey, 36. Dane Swan, 37. Brayden Maynard, 40. Josh Smith, 43. Adam Oxley, 44. Corey Gault, 45. Jack Frost, 46. Mason Cox