Main content

Metro dominates 2014 Under-18 All Australian team

Eyecatchers: All Australian team revealed Draft experts Kevin Sheehan, Michael Ablett and Callum Twomey wrap up the champs and reveal the All Australian team
Paul Ahern of Vic Metro in action during the 2014 NAB AFL Under 18 Championship match between VIC Metro and Western Australia at Simonds Stadium, Geelong on June 27, 2014. (Photo: Sean Garnsworthy/AFL Media)
Paul Ahern is one of the exciting batch of midfielders named in the Under-18s All Australian team

VIC METRO didn't win the NAB AFL Under-18 Championships but has dominated the All Australian team, with seven players selected in the prestigious squad.

Despite losing the division one title decider to South Australia on Thursday, Metro has the most players from any state in the side, led by Larke Medal-winning midfielder Christian Petracca.

Click here for Callum Twomey's phantom draft form guide

Other Metro draft prospects given All-Australian honours were Ed Vickers-Willis and Angus Brayshaw in defence, midfielder Paul Ahern, ruckman Peter Wright, and forwards Darcy Moore and Jayden Laverde.

South Australia had four members in the team, with its MVP and rebounding defender Harrison Wigg prominent, as well as midfielders Billy Stretch and Jake Johansen.

Click here for all the Under-18 Championships results

Caleb Daniel, who starred in the final two rounds of the carnival, gathering a combined 48 disposals and six goals, won a position in the six-man forward group.

Vic Country was also well represented with five players selected, including possible No.1 draft pick Patrick McCartin and impressive tall defender Caleb Marchbank.

U18 talls get bad breaks in championships

Highlighting the quality performances of Country's bottom-aged players through the championships, it had three players picked – Darcy Tucker, Rhys Mathieson and Darcy Parish – who aren't draft eligible until 2015.

In total there were five players made All Australians who can't be drafted this year, with Queenslander Ben Keays the sole representative from his state.

Talented midfielder Callum Mills, from New South Wales/ACT, was the other, joining Isaac Heeney and Jack Steele as players from the division two-winning side to be recognised. 

Connor Blakely was the only player picked from Western Australia after averaging 21 disposals across four games, while Tasmanian defender Josh McGuinness was rewarded for his consistent efforts.

The selection panel included the AFL's Kevin Sheehan, Michael Ablett and Brad Johnson, and club recruiting managers Stephen Wells (Geelong), Dom Ambrogio (Gold Coast), Jason Taylor (Melbourne) and Rohan O'Brien (West Coast).

They named Jason Saddington, from NSW/ACT, as the All Australian coach, with South Australia's Brenton Phillips the assistant.

Click here for full previews of all 22 players (pdf)


DEFENDERS: Harrison Wigg (South Australia), Ed Vickers-Willis (Vic Metro), Josh McGuinness (Tasmania), Darcy Tucker (Vic Country), Caleb Marchbank (Vic Country), Angus Brayshaw (Vic Metro)

MIDFIELDERS: Paul Ahern (Vic Metro), Christian Petracca (Vic Metro), Billy Stretch (South Australia), Peter Wright (Vic Metro), Isaac Heeney (NSW/ACT), Jake Johansen (South Australia)

FORWARDS: Callum Mills (NSW/ACT), Darcy Moore (Vic Metro), Rhys Mathieson (Vic Country), Jayden Laverde (Vic Metro), Patrick McCartin (Vic Country), Caleb Daniel (South Australia)

INTERCHANGE: Jack Steele (NSW/ACT), Darcy Parish (Vic Country), Ben Keays (Queensland), Connor Blakely (Western Australia)

COACH: Jason Saddington (NSW/ACT)

ASSISTANT COACH: Brenton Phillips (South Australia)