Main content

Second-year Swan's honour puts him among modern greats

SYDNEY, AUSTRALIA - SEPTEMBER 10: Isaac Heeney of the Swans in action during the 2016 AFL First Qualifying Final match between the Sydney Swans and the GWS Giants at ANZ Stadium on September 10, 2016 in Sydney, Australia. (Photo by Michael Willson/AFL Media)
Isaac Heeney has been judged the AFL's best young player by the coaches

SYDNEY Swans young gun Isaac Heeney has been named the AFL Coaches Association's best young player of the year.

All of the coaches in the AFLCA vote 5-4-3-2-1 on the best young players in the competition. The players must be in either their first or second season at AFL level, with no age or games restriction.

Heeney, who was named the AFL Players' Association best first year player last season, was a clear standout, polling 569 votes ahead of the next best, Melbourne's Jesse Hogan with 337. 

"Obviously it's pretty humbling," Heeney told Fox Footy on Tuesday night.

"A bit like last year, obviously the players voted me in as the best first-year player and this year it's the coaches.

"So it's definitely very humbling. To see that Marcus Bontempelli won it last year and where's he's got to in his football already is pretty special. If I can sort of follow along those footsteps it will be something I'll cherish."

Adelaide defender Jake Lever (315), Western Bulldogs midfielder Caleb Daniel (285) and Collingwood forward Darcy Moore (253) rounded out the top-five.

Heeney joins some of the game's modern greats by winning the award. Brownlow medallists Chris Judd (2003), Adam Cooney (2005) and Nat Fyfe (2011) are previous winners.  

Previous AFLCA Best Young Player winners

2015 - Marcus Bontempelli (Western Bulldogs)
2014 - Jaeger O'Meara (Gold Coast)
2013 - Jeremy Cameron (GWS)
2012 - Dyson Heppell (Essendon)
2011 - Nathan Fyfe (Fremantle)
2010 - Stephen Hill (Fremantle)
2009 - Cyril Rioli (Hawthorn)
2008 - Joel Selwood (Geelong)
2007 - Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood)
2006 - Ryan Griffen (Western Bulldogs)
2005 - Adam Cooney (Western Bulldogs)
2004 - Daniel Wells (Kangaroos)
2003 - Chris Judd (West Coast)