MELBOURNE has overhauled its leadership group with captain Nathan Jones the only survivor from last year.

Vice-captain Lynden Dunn, former co-captain Jack Grimes, key forward Chris Dawes and Heritier Lumumba have all been axed from the 2015 group, while Daniel Cross has already retired.

The new group features reigning best and fairest winner Bernie Vince, veteran Colin Garland, defender Tom McDonald and emerging stars Jack Viney and Max Gawn.

Viney, 21, joins the leadership group after a breakout 2015 season where he stormed home to finish just one vote behind Vince in the Keith 'Bluey' Truscott Memorial Trophy despite missing six games.

"It's really exciting to be recognised by the players and other coaches to be one of the main leaders in the playing group," he told the club's website.

"It's a great achievement and I'm fairly proud.

"I really like how it’s set up and the players who are involved in it."

He follows in the footsteps of his father Todd, who was appointed deputy vice-captain at the same age in 1988.

"It's something I'm very proud of – my family history at the club," he said.

"I think my old man got a bit carried away after his second year.

"He got a bit complacent, so I'll be making sure I don't do the same thing."

It will be Jones' second successive season as sole skipper and no vice-captain has been named.

Coach Paul Roos announced the new leaders at Melbourne's season launch at the MCG on Wednesday night.